James Shaw, Marama Davidson unveil new-look Green Party list

Greens co-leaders James Shaw and Marama Davidson have released the party's final list ahead of Election 2023.

The resignation of Elizabeth Kerekere earlier this month left the party needing a minor reshuffle. 

Former Associate Transport Minister Julie Anne Genter, who was ranked fifth in the initial candidates' list, moves up one to take the spot previously occupied by Dr Kerekere.

Current Member of Parliament Golriz Ghahraman drops to seventh, one below non-MP Lan Pham - who will represent the party in Canterbury's Banks Peninsula electorate held by Labour's Tracey McLellan.

Failed Auckland mayoral candidate Efeso Collins appears at no.11, one place above his initial ranking.

"It is an immense honour to stand alongside such a strong group of tangata whenua voices who bring with them a vast range of experiences, knowledge and skills," said Davidson.

"I am delighted that we are heading into the general election with such a strong group of candidates that can set the direction of the next Government and deliver our plan to build a climate-friendly Aotearoa that works for everyone," added Shaw.

James Shaw and Marama Davidson.
James Shaw and Marama Davidson. Photo credit: Newshub.

The Green Party's final list for election 2023: 

  1. Marama Davidson (list only)
  2. James Shaw (list only) 
  3. Chlöe Swarbrick (Auckland Central)
  4. Julie Anne Genter (Rongotai)
  5. Teanau Tuiono (Palmerston North)
  6. Lan Pham (Banks Peninsula)
  7. Golriz Ghahraman (Kelston)
  8. Ricardo Menéndez March (Mount Albert)
  9. Steve Abel (New Lynn)
  10. Hūhana Lyndon (Te Tai Tokerau)
  11. Fa’anānā Efeso Collins (Panmure-Ōtāhuhu)
  12. Scott Willis (Taieri)
  13. Darleen Tana (Tāmaki Makaurau)
  14. Kahurangi Carter (Christchurch Central)
  15. Celia Wade-Brown (Wairarapa)
  16. Dr. Lawrence Xu-Nan (Epsom)
  17. Francisco Hernandez (Dunedin)
  18. Benjamin Doyle (Hamilton West)
  19. Mike Davidson (Ilam)
  20. Stephanie Rodgers (Ōhāriu)
  21. Suveen Sanis Walgampola (Mount Roskill)
  22. Dave Kennedy (Southland)
  23. Gina Dao-McLay (Mana)
  24. Reina Tuai Penney (Northland)
  25. Nick Ratcliffe (Tukituki)
  26. Dr. Alexander McNeil (Kaikōrua)
  27. Richard Wesley (Wigram)
  28. Neelu Jennings (Hutt South)
  29. Rochelle Francis 
  30. Sapna Samant (Maungakiekie)
  31. Kair Lippiatt