Election 2023: ACT Party reveals its list of candidates for general election

The ACT Party has revealed its list of candidates for the 2023 election - and there have been some major changes.

ACT leader David Seymour and deputy leader Brooke van Velden maintain their one and two positions, however Toni Severin (currently ninth) and Chris Baillie (currently fourth) take big falls down the list to 14 and 17 respectively.

Current MP Dr James McDowall doesn't feature at all, while Damien Smith has already announced he will retire from Parliament at the election.

ACT has 10 MPs, and polls point to it picking up even more later this year. May's Newshub-Reid Research poll gave ACT 14 seats, while the most recent Taxpayers' Union Curia poll gave ACT 17.

This success would see multiple newcomers to ACT's caucus. The mostly unknown Todd Stephenson has been given a prime spot on number four, while former Federated Farmers president Andrew Hoggard sits at ACT's number 5.

Further down the list of newcomers, former National MP Parmjeet Parmar has been selected at number 9, Laura Trask is at 10, Tauranga by-election candidate Cameron Luxton at 11, AI lawyer Antonia Modkova at 12, Hamilton business owner Ash Parmar at 13, Ben Harvey at 15 and Hawke's Bay businessman Rob Douglas at 16.

Seymour said his party has announced a "talented and diverse team of Kiwis" to deliver "real change".

"ACT's list of candidates is a true representation of New Zealand society. There are farmers, legal experts, business executives, tradies, mothers and fathers, army lieutenants, policy experts, small business owners, teachers, engineers, licensed firearms owners and more," he said in a statement.

"Kiwis reading the news today see a country in terminal decline. Almost every part of life is becoming more expensive, less productive, and less safe. This year's election can't be about just changing the Government, it needs to be about changing the direction of the country.

"This is the team putting real change on the agenda. New Zealand can't afford to go through another term of Labour running down every aspect of society followed by National slowing the decline but ultimately keeping things the same. History tells us the courage to reverse Labour's policies and have real change won't exist unless ACT is a big part of the next Government."

ACT's list for the 2023 general election:

  1. David Seymour - Epsom
  2. Brooke van Velden - Tāmaki
  3. Nicole McKee - Rongotai
  4. Todd Stephenson - Southland
  5. Andrew Hoggard - Rangitikei
  6. Karen Chhour - Upper Harbour
  7. Mark Cameron - Northland
  8. Simon Court - Te Atatū
  9. Parmjeet Parmar - Pakuranga
  10. Laura Trask - Banks Peninsula
  11. Cameron Luxton - Bay of Plenty
  12. Antonia Modkova - Panmure-Ōtāhuhu
  13. Ash Parmar - Hamilton East
  14. Toni Severin - Christchurch East
  15. Ben Harvey - Selwyn
  16. Rob Douglas - Tukituki
  17. Chris Baillie - Nelson
  18. Christine Young - Tauranga
  19. Zane Cozens - Taupō
  20. Leo Foley - Northcote
  21. Anna Yallop - North Shore
  22. Lily Brown - Mana
  23. Mike McCormick - Papakura
  24. Andy Parkins - Hutt South
  25. Felix Poole - Maungakiekie
  26. Rahul Chopra - Mt Roskill
  27. Michael Howe - East Coast
  28. Ollie Murphy - Mt Albert
  29. Elaine Naidu Franz - Rangitata
  30. Keith Griffiths - Kaikōura
  31. Rae Ah Chee - Takanini
  32. Susan Stevenson - Hamilton West
  33. Anto Coates - Kaipara Ki Mahurangi
  34. Michael McCook - East Coast Bays
  35. Juan Alvarez de Lugo - New Lynn
  36. Pawel Milewski - Napier
  37. Neil Christensen - Port Waikato
  38. Dion Anderson - List
  39. Simon Angelo - Whangaparāoa
  40. Sean Beamish - Waitaki
  41. Scott Boness - Auckland Central
  42. Susy Bretherton - Whangarei
  43. Ross Campbell - Waimakariri
  44. Simon Casey - Wairarapa
  45. Jake Curran - Kelston
  46. Scott Donaldson - Invercargill
  47. Matthew Fisken - Christchurch Central
  48. Darren Gilchrist - Waikato
  49. Mike Harnett - Palmerston North
  50. Pothen Joseph - Mangere
  51. Kelly Lilly - West Coast Tasman
  52. Kevin Matthews - List
  53. Burty Meffan - Taieri
  54. Marten Rozeboom - Rotorua
  55. Sean Rush - Ōtaki