Election 2023: Michael Wood, Nanaia Mahuta among Labour MPs who won't be returning to Parliament

  • 15/10/2023
Michael Wood.
Michael Wood. Photo credit: Newshub.

Saturday night's election results mean multiple high-profile Labour MPs and former senior ministers won't be returning to Parliament.  

After receiving a historic majority at the 2020 election, Labour was entitled to 65 seats. But, based on Saturday night's results, the party would have just 34 positions in Parliament. That means multiple current MPs - some former senior ministers - will not return to the Beehive.  

One of those who lost her seat was outgoing Foreign Affairs Minister Nanaia Mahuta, who was trailing Te Pāti Māori's Hana-Rawhiti Maipi Clarke by 1366 votes at the time of writing. Mahuta did not run on Labour's list.  

Another MP who would likely leave Parliament was Mt Roskill's Michael Wood. He was trailing National's Carlos Cheung by 1429 votes. 

Tāmati Coffey lost his Waiariki seat in 2020. He remained in Parliament on Labour's list.  

Coffey stood for Labour in East Coast this election following the departure of Kiri Allan earlier this year but was trailing National's Dana Kirkpatrick by some margin. He was 36th on Labour's list, meaning he would depart Parliament.  

Another who lost her seat was Sarah Pallett, whose upset victory over National's Gerry Brownlee in the Ilam electorate in 2020 got her into Parliament. She's ranked 51 on the list and was trailing National's Hamish Campbell and The Opportunities Party's Raf Manji.  

Anna Lorck has also lost her Tukituki electorate by a considerable margin to National's Catherine Wedd and won't return to Parliament.