Election 2023: Christopher Luxon announces ministers; Winston Peters and David Seymour to job-share deputy Prime Minister

Incoming Prime Minister Christopher Luxon has announced the full line-up of his team for the next New Zealand Government.

NZ First leader Winston Peters and ACT's David Seymour will share the deputy Prime Ministership - something that has never been done before. The former will step into the role for the first half of the three-year term and the latter for the second half.

Peters has also been named Foreign Affairs Minister, while former National leader Judith Collins has been given the Attorney General role.

Luxon, in addition to Prime Minister, will take the Security and Intelligence and Ministerial Services portfolios.

Seymour will be the Minister for Regulation and the Associate Minister of Education, Finance and Health.

National Cabinet ministers

Christopher Luxon

  • Prime Minister
  • Minister for National Security and Intelligence
  • Minister Responsible for Ministerial Services

Nicola Willis

  • Minister of Finance
  • Minister for the Public Service
  • Minister for Social Investment
  • Associate Minister of Climate Change

Chris Bishop

  • Minister of Housing
  • Minister for Infrastructure
  • Minister Responsible for RMA Reform
  • Minister for Sport and Recreation
  • Leader of the House
  • Associate Minister of Finance

Shane Reti

  • Minister of Health
  • Minister for Pacific Peoples

Simeon Brown

  • Minister for Energy
  • Minister of Local Government
  • Minister of Transport
  • Minister for Auckland
  • Deputy Leader of the House

Erica Stanford

  • Minister of Education
  • Minister of Immigration

Paul Goldsmith

  • Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage
  • Minister of Justice
  • Minister for State Owned Enterprises
  • Minister for Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations

Louise Upston

  • Minister for the Community and Voluntary Sector
  • Minister for Social Development and Employment
  • Minister for Child Poverty Reduction

Judith Collins

  • Attorney-General
  • Minister of Defence
  • Minister for Digitising Government
  • Minister Responsible for the GCSB
  • Minister Responsible for the NZSIS
  • Minister of Science, Innovation and Technology
  • Minister for Space
  • Lead Coordination Minister for the Government's Response to the Royal Commission's Report into the Terrorist Attack on the Christchurch Mosque.

Mark Mitchell

  • Minister of Corrections
  • Minister for Emergency Management and Recovery
  • Minister of Police

Todd McClay

  • Minister of Agriculture
  • Minister of Forestry
  • Minister for Hunting and Fishing
  •  Minister for Trade
  • Associate Minister of Foreign Affairs

Tama Potaka

  • Minister of Conservation
  • Minister for Māori Crown Relations:
  • Te Arawhiti
  • Minister for Māori Development
  • Minister for Whānau Ora
  • Associate Minister of Housing (Social Housing)

Matt Doocey

  • Minister for ACC
  • Minister for Mental Health
  • Minister for Tourism and Hospitality
  • Minister for Youth
  • Associate Minister of Health
  • Associate Minister of Transport

Melissa Lee

  • Minister for Economic Development
  • Minister for Ethnic Communities 
  • Minister for Media and Communications
  • Associate Minister for ACC

National ministers outside of Cabinet 

 Simon Watts

  • Minister of Climate Change
  • Minister of Revenue

Penny Simmonds

  • Minister for Disability Issues
  • Minister for the Environment
  • Minister for Tertiary Education and Skills
  • Associate Minister for Social Development and Employment

Chris Penk

  • Minister for Building and Construction
  • Minister for Land Information
  • Minister for Veterans
  • Associate Minister of Defence
  • Associate Minister of Immigration

Nicola Grigg

  • Minister of State for Trade
  • Minister for Women
  • Associate Minister of Agriculture (Horticulture)

Andrew Bayly

  • Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs
  • Minister for Small Business and Manufacturing
  • Minister of Statistics

ACT Ministers

David Seymour

  • Deputy Prime Minister (from May 31, 2025)
  • Minister for Regulation
  • Associate Minister of Education (Partnership Schools)
  • Associate Minister of Finance
  • Associate Minister of Health (Pharmac)

Brooke van Velden

  • Minister of Internal Affairs
  • Minister for Workplace Relations and Safety

Nicole McKee

  • Minister for Courts
  • Associate Minister of Justice (Firearms)
Andrew Hoggard (outside Cabinet)
  • Minister for Biosecurity
  • Minister for Food Safety
  • Associate Minister of Agriculture (Animal Welfare, Skills)
  • Associate Minister for the Environment

Karen Chhour (outside Cabinet)

  • Minister for Children
  • Minister for the Prevention of Family and Sexual Violence

Simon Court

  •         Minister for Infrastructure
  •         Minister Responsible for RMA Reform

New Zealand First Ministers

Winston Peters

  • Deputy Prime Minister (until May 31, 2025)
  • Minister of Foreign Affairs
  • Minister for Racing

Hon Shane Jones

  • Minister for Oceans and Fisheries
  • Minister for Regional Development
  • Minister for Resources
  • Associate Minister of Finance
  • Associate Minister for Energy

Casey Costello

  • Minister of Customs
  • Minister for Seniors 
  • Associate Minister of Health 
  • Associate Minister of Immigration
  • Associate Minister of Police

Mark Patterson (outside Cabinet)

  • Minister for Rural Communities
  • Associate Minister of Agriculture
Jenny Marcroft
  • Parliamentary Under-Secretary to the Minister for Media and Communications