Rugby World Cup 2019: All Blacks halfback TJ Perenara nominated for Try of the Year award

Halfback TJ Perenara's spectacular try during the All Blacks' thrashing of Namibia at the 2019 Rugby World Cup has been nominated as one of the contenders for the International Rugby Players (IRP) Try of the Year 2019 award.

Perenara's 79th-minute effort in the 71-9 win is one of four tries to be shortlisted, with the winner to be announced at the World Rugby Awards in Tokyo on November 3.

The 27-year-old started and finished the spectacular play when he side-stepped Prince Gaoseb before racing into opposition territory and producing a stunning pass to George Bridge. 

Brad Weber then got the ball and did a flick pass to Perenara, who dived over in the corner.

His try sent social media into a frenzy, and even got Steve Hansen celebrating in the coach's box. 

Also nominated are tries by Charles Ollivon for France against Wales in the Rugby World Cup quarter-final, Sergio Parisse for Italy in a warm-up match against Russia, and South Africa's Cobus Reinach's hat-trick try against Canada. 

World Rugby chairman Sir Bill Beaumont said it was very tough to narrow the list of contenders to four.

"After an amazing year of rugby and many incredible tries to choose from, it wasn't an easy selection for the IRP panel, but they have done it brilliantly."

Former All Black and two-time World Cup winner Conrad Smith is on the panel which will determine the winner. 

Rugby World Cup 2019: All Blacks halfback TJ Perenara nominated for Try of the Year award

"There were some excellent scores this year, and our job to pick a shortlist was a difficult one," said Smith. 

"From the men's and women's Six Nations in early 2019 all the way through to the Rugby World Cup in Japan, we saw some amazing efforts during the year. These tries really are a testament to the quality of international rugby and the skills on display out there, and this sparked some great debate among the panel."

A New Zealander has won the Try of the Year award three times since it was first awarded in 2007 - Beauden Barrett in 2014, Julian Savea in 2015 and Brodie Retallick last year. 

Meanwhile, no New Zealanders are in the running for the Breakthrough Player of the Year award, with England's Joe Cokanasiga, South Africa's Herschel Jantjies and France's Romain Ntamack all receiving nominations. 

Essential Guide to 2019 Rugby World Cup

Everything you need to know about rugby and the World Cup...

The ninth Rugby World Cup kicks off on September 20 in Japan - the first time it has been hosted in Asia.

Join us for live updates of All Blacks v Wales from 10pm Friday