Rugby World Cup: World champion Black Ferns nominated for World Rugby Awards

World Cup triumph has catapulted the Black Ferns into contention for World Rugby Awards.

Nominations for 11 categories have been announced for the red-carpet awards ceremony on November 20 at Monaco - a return to the physical format after the COVID-19 interruption - with the NZ women prominent among the finalists.

Captain Ruahei Demant and recordbreaking winger Portia Woodman are among the favourites for Women' 15s Player of the Year, up against England's Alex Matthews, Canada's Sophie de Goede and France's Laure Sansus.

Previous winner Woodman finished the tournament as top tryscorer, breaking the all-time record for World Cup tries, while Demant assumed the leadership from previous skipper Les Elder for the 2022 campaign and was Player of the Match in the final against England.

Lock Maiakawanakaulani Roos and winger Ruby Tui are among the Women's 15s Breakthrough Player of the Year candidates, along with England's Maud Muir and Vitalina Maikore of Fiji.

'Professor' Wayne Smith is recognised among Coach of the Year contenders, along with England women's coach Simon Middleton - architect of a 30-test winning streak - Andy Farrell of Ireland men and Fabien Galthie for the French men.

Midfielder Sylvia Brunt's effort against Wales in World Cup poolplay is among finalists for Women's Try of the Year, facing competition from Australian Emily Chancellor, England's Abby Dow, Ireland's Linda Djougang and South African Nomawethu Mabenge.

Fans can vote for their favourite tries on World Rugby social media until 1pm Friday (NZ time).

No All Blacks have been nominated for awards, after a season that has seen the NZ men fall to a first-ever series defeat at home against Ireland and their first home loss to Argentina.

Nominees for men's and women's 15s Players of the Year will be announced on Tuesday morning, while winners of the World Rugby Referee Award, International Rugby Players Special Merit Award, Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service, and men's and women's Dream Team of the Year will be named at the ceremony.