Farmers vote for changes to Fonterra board

Outgoing Zespri chairman Peter McBride has been elected to the board of Fonterra, taking one of three vacancies.

The final results of 2018 Fonterra Board of Directors election have been confirmed with shareholders voting Mr McBride and former director Leonie Guiney on to the board. 

Incumbent director Ashley Waugh, Jamie Tuuta and John Nicholls were unsuccessful.

Peter McBride lives at Te Puna and has farming interests in the Waikato and Bay of Plenty. He recently announced that he will step down as chairman of Zespri in February 2019.

Leonie Guiney lives and farms near Fairlie, where she is a director of four dairy farming companies. She previously served on the Fonterra board from 2014 to 2017.

John Wilson and Nicola Shadbolt are retiring from the board effective at the conclusion of the Fonterra Annual Meeting on November 8, 2018.

One director position remains unfilled, since the remaining candidates did not achieve the support of more than 50 percent of votes cast. 

In accordance with the rules for election of directors, a second election must take place. 

Shareholders David Gasquoine and Stephen Silcock were elected unopposed to the Directors' Remuneration Committee.

In the shareholders' council elections, the following two shareholders' councillors were elected:

Ward 7  Waipa Mike Montgomerie

Ward 19  Tasman/Marlborough Sue Brown

Mike Montgomerie is a new Shareholders' Councillor.

In the eight other Shareholders' Council wards where elections were due, nominees were elected unopposed. 

The Councillors in those wards are:

Ward 1 - Northern Northland                    Luke Beehre

Ward 4 - Waikato West                             Ross Wallis

Ward 10 - Northern Bay of Plenty            Don Hammond

Ward 13 - Central Taranaki                       Noel Caskey

Ward 16 - Central Districts West              Robert Ervine

Ward 21 - Central Canterbury                   Mark Slee

Ward 22 - South Canterbury                     Michelle Pye

Ward 25 - Western Southland                  Simon Hopcroft

Mark Slee and Simon Hopcroft are the two new shareholders' councillors.

All successful candidates will take office at the close of the Annual Meeting on Thursday, November 8, 2018.