Supreme winner announced in Rural Women Business Awards

A Hawke's Bay woman's dedication to saving native plant species has won her the supreme award in this year's NZI Rural Women Business Awards.

Marie Taylor of grower Plant Hawke's Bay was announced as the winner at a ceremony in Parliament's Banquet Hall on Tuesday.

She set up the nursery in 2005, and grows rare and uncommon naturally-occurring Hawke's Bay plants for re-established throughout the region.

Rural Women New Zealand National President Fiona Gower says she's a worthy winner.

"Marie's passion, expertise and commitment to her business, the environment and her community is reflected in the outstanding work Plant Hawke's Bay carries out."

Ms Taylor says she's delighted to have won.

"Being a part of the NZI Rural Women New Zealand Business Awards is a tremendous opportunity for me and a wonderful way to showcase Plant Hawke's Bay and build its profile, enabling me to tell my native plant story," she says.

"It is also great to meet other inspiring rural women and hear of their stories of business success."

The ceremony was held in the Banquet Hall at Parliament.
The ceremony was held in the Banquet Hall at Parliament. Photo credit: Facebook

Meanwhile Premier Partner, NZI Rural Manager Jon Watson, says all category winners deserve to be congratulated.

"These awards recognise the sheer hard work, dedication and entrepreneurship that goes into developing rural enterprises," he says.

"Plant Hawke's Bay grew from Marie's desire to save local plant species by getting them back into their natural landscape. Marie and her team focus on eco-sourcing seeds and cuttings from Hawke's Bay, ensuring the regeneration of local plant species for future generations.

"Marie stands out because of her energy and passion for native plants and their habitats, she has an enquiring mind and was always keen to research and find out more to help landowners care for their land."

The event was hosted by MP Jenny Marcroft with guest speaker US Ambassador Scott Brown. 

The awards winners for each category are:

-Creative Arts

Sophie Siers - Millwood Press Ltd, Hawke's Bay

-Emerging Business

Hannah O'Brien - Hunt and Gather Bee Co, Waikato


Bridget Canning - WIZwireless, Wairarapa

-Love of the Land           

Marie Taylor - Plants Hawke's Bay, Hawke's Bay

-Rural Champion           

Robyn McKenzie - Fly My Sky, Taumarunui