Finalists revealed for inaugural Primary Industry Awards

The winners will be announced at a gala dinner in Wellington.
The winners will be announced at a gala dinner in Wellington. Photo credit: Unsplash

The finalists in the inaugural Primary Industry Awards have been announced, ahead of a major new industry event.

The awards are part of the first Primary Industries Summit at Te Papa in Wellington hosted by Federated Farmers on July 1.

The conference is a partnership between Federated Farmers and Conferenz.

Federated Farmers President, Katie Milne said the awards aim to shine a spotlight on the important role the primary sector plays in the economy and honour the most successful and innovative primary industries' producers and supporters.

The finalists are:

Primary Industries Team Award:
  -DairyNZ, for 'Rosie the Cow'
  -Beef + Lamb NZ, for "Taste Pure New Zealand'

Primary Industries Science and Research Award:
  -Lincoln University, for ClearTech
  -Agricom/Greener Pastures, for Ecotain

Primary Industries Innovation & Collaboration Award:
  -Farmlands, for Safe Farm and Safe visits
  -AgriCom/Greener Pastures, for Ecotain
  -New Zealand Shearing Contractors Association, for Tahi Ngatahi

Primary Industries Chief Executive of the Year:
  -Linda Sissons, PrimaryITO
  -Greg Campbell, Ravensdown

The award for Outstanding Contribution to the Primary Industries will be made on the night of July 1, at the awards dinner.


Contact Newshub with your story tips: