Eight farmers stand for DairyNZ board

Two positions on DairyNZ's Board of Directors have attracted eight dairy farmer candidates.

The board consists of five farmer-elected directors and three board-appointed directors. 

This year, directors Ben Allomes and Elaine Cook are both retiring by rotation, and Allomes is not standing for re-election.

Voting starts on September 23rd and electionz.com returning officer Anthony Morton said farmers would have until October 21 to cast their votes.

"This election enables levy-paying dairy farmers a great chance to vote for farmer candidates they feel will add the leadership and direction they'd like to see as part of the DairyNZ board," he said.

"DairyNZ levy payers will receive a vote pack in the mail from September 23, so keep an eye out for it, and learn more about all the candidates before casting your vote," said Morton.

The 2019 Board of Director candidates are:

Adrian Ball - Tirau

Tracy Brown - Matamata

Conall Buchanan- Paeroa

Elaine Cook - Hamilton

Simon Couper - Waipu

Stu Husband - Morrinsville

Hugh Le Fleming - South Canterbury

Deborah Rhodes - Collingwood

No nominations were received for the Directors Remuneration Committee position, which reviews and recommends changes to directors' payments and other benefits to directors each year. 

The DairyNZ Board would determine how the vacancy would be filled.

The successful candidates for all positions will be announced at the DairyNZ AGM in Hamilton on October 22.