At A Glance: Halberg Award finalists named

  • 07/01/2016
Dan Carter (Getty)
Dan Carter (Getty)

The finalists for the 53rd Halberg Awards have been announced, and based on New Zealand's hugely successful sporting year picking the winners could be a difficult choice.

In all, 15 sports have been recognised in the shortlist, with cricket and rugby featuring most prominently with three finalists among the six categories.

The finalists were selected by the Halberg Awards judges, a panel of former athletes, coaches and sports journalist who considered 63 nominations.

The awards will be held on February 18 at Vector Arena, in Auckland.

Aside from the six categories, four others awards will be handed out for Radio Sport Sporting Moment, Sport NZ Leadership Award and Lifetime Achievement Award. The inductees into the Sports Hall of Fame will also be announced at the ceremony.

High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportsman of the Year

High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportswoman of the Year

Disabled Sportsperson of the Year

Microsoft Surface Team of the Year

SKY NEXT Emerging Talent

Coach of the Year

3 News