No surprises in Blackcaps squad to play opening Test of the summer against the West Indies in Wellington

Kane Williamson will be looking to bounce back after a poor tour of India.
Kane Williamson will be looking to bounce back after a poor tour of India. Photo credit: Getty

There’s a familiar look to the Blackcaps initial squad of 12 that will meet the West Indies in the opening Test of the home summer, though one player is still to be added. 

That addition will be confirmed following a three-day warm-up match between New Zealand A and the Caribbean side beginning 25 November.

A pace trio of Lockie Ferguson, Adam Milne and Scott Kuggeleijn will make up the New Zealand A bowling attack, in what will be one of the fastest the country has ever produced.  

While still named in the squad, the availability of wicketkeeper BJ Watling for the Test on December 1 is in question due to a hip injury.

Watling will be monitored and evaluated over the coming week.  

Selector Gavin Larsen said the Test squad had a settled look to it. 

"Aside from a question mark over BJ, we have a fully fit squad who have all shown they have what it takes to perform at Test level," said Larsen.

"We want to hit the ground running for that first match at the Basin Reserve. It’s a special place to play cricket and we’re determined to start the summer on a positive note."

Larsen said the New Zealand A side was full of talent and excitement.

"While the squad doesn’t have too many surprises, this NZ A team certainly shows that we have depth and quality players who are pushing for higher honours.

"Watching the three quickest bowlers in NZ operating together will certainly be exciting, and all three have plenty to play for.

"We are looking to develop Martin’s leadership capabilities and the NZ A match is another good opportunity."

The New Zealand side will head into camp in Wellington on November 28. 

Blackcaps Test squad (one to be added)

Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls,Jeet Raval, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling

New Zealand A

Martin Guptill (c), Todd Astle, Tom Blundell, Neil Broom, Tom Bruce, Lockie Ferguson, Scott Kuggeleijn,Adam Milne, Colin Munro, Jeet Raval, George Worker