Blackcaps Twenty20 squad announced for series against Pakistan

  • 17/01/2018
Wheeler last played for NZ in February 2017.
Wheeler last played for NZ in February 2017. Photo credit: Photosport

Central Districts bowler Ben Wheeler has earned a recall to the Blackcaps squad for the three-match T20 series against Pakistan.

Coach Mike Hesson's named an interchangeable 13-man squad with Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, and Lockie Ferguson to all be rested at different stages.

Boult's also being rested for Friday's final ODI at the Basin Reserve, to be replaced by Seth Rance.

Wheeler hasn't played since for the national side since February 2017, but selector Gavin Larsen said it was exciting to have him back in the mix after a stand-out Super Smash campaign with the Stags.

“Ben’s ability to swing the ball makes him a threatening bowler and his batting power and athleticism in the field compliments that nicely," Larsen noted.

"It will be nice to see more of Ben and Seth while we manage the workloads of Tim and Trent. 

The T20 series starts on 22 January at Westpac Stadium in Wellington. 

Blackcaps Twenty20 squad: Kane Williamson (captain), Trent Boult (second and third T20 only), Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson (second and third T20 only), Martin Guptill, Anaru Kitchen, Colin Munro, Glenn Phillips, Seth Rance, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee (first and third T20 only), Ross Taylor (first T20 only), Ben Wheeler.


Contact Newshub with your story tips: