Super Rugby: All Blacks Jerome Kaino, Sonny Bill Williams return to Blues team to face Lions

  • 09/03/2018
Jerome Kaino will make his first start of the season against the Lions
Jerome Kaino will make his first start of the season against the Lions Photo credit: Photosport

All Black stalwart Jerome Kaino will make his first Super Rugby start of the season in the Blues' clash with the Lions on Sunday (NZ time).

The 34-year-old, 81-Test Kaino - soon to join French outfit Toulouse - will line up on the blindside in Johannesburg, with Akira Ioane at No 8.       

Antonio Kiri Kiri rounds out the loose forward trio.          

Elsewhere, Sonny Bill Williams returns to the fold in his customary second five-eighth position, where he'll form a midfield duo with Rieko Ioane.   

Livewire Ioane has been moved in from the wing by coach Tana Umaga, enabling a back three of Melani Nanai, Matt Duffie and Michael Collins.       

George Moala has not been selected.   

In the halves, Bryn Gatland retains his spot over the fit-again Stephen Perofeta, while Sam Nock replaces captain Augustine Pulu at halfback.              

Sonny Bill Williams.
Sonny Bill Williams. Photo credit: Photosport

James Parsons will captain the side in Pulu's injury-enforced absence.   

The Blues last visited the iconic Ellis Park in May 2016, losing 43-5.            

"The Lions are a formidable team - we well remember our last time here two years ago and we're keen to put that right," Umaga said.      

"They have scored a lot of tries this season off their lineout drive.           

"We need to be disciplined and not give them attacking chances from penalties, although at the same time we need to be our usual aggressive selves."     

Blues squad to face Lions: 1. Alex Hodgman, 2. James Parsons (c), 3. Ofa Tu'ungafasi, 4. Patrick Tuipulotu, 5. Gerard Cowley-Tuioti, 6. Jerome Kaino, 7. Antonio Kiri Kiri, 8. Akira Ioane, 9. Sam Nock, 10. Bryn Gatland, 11. Melani Manai, 12. Sonny Bill Williams, 13. Rieko Ioane, 14. Matt Duffie, 15. Michael Collins.

Reserves: 16 Ross Wright, 17 Pauliasi Manu, 18 Mike Tamoaieta, 19 Scott Scrafton, 20 Jimmy Tupou, 21 Murphy Taramai, 22 Jonathan Ruru, 23 Stephen Perofeta.