Rugby: Barrett brothers to create All Blacks history against France

For the first time, three brothers will start a test match for the All Blacks.

Jordie Barrett's selection at fullback for Saturday's series opener against France, will see him run onto Eden Park with first-five Beauden and lock Scott.

It's quite the milestone, almost a year since the trio were selected in a 23 together against Samoa last season.

Barrett's selection has pushed Ben Smith onto the right wing, where he's featured in 27 of his 64 tests.

With Rieko Ioane on the left, there's no room for inform Highlander Waisake Naholo in the 23.

In the midfield, Anton Lienert-Brown partners Ryan Crotty, a combination that was very successful in 2016. Ngani's Laumape's hard-running impact will be used off the bench.

Damian McKenzie has been chosen ahead of Crusaders pivot Richie Mo'unga as Beauden Barrett's back up first-five.

all blacks first test

In Kieran Read's absence, Luke Whitelock is at number eight, combining with Liam Squire and Sam Cane in the loose forwards.

Cane appears to have recovered from the abdominal injury that has kept him out of Super Rugby.

The new cap in the team is loosehead prop Karl Tu'inukuafe.

It's a meteoric rise for the 25-year-old North Harbour player, who wasn't even in the Chiefs squad at the start of the year. He's been helped by injuries to Kane Hames and Atu Moli, as well as the test retirement of Wyatt Crockett.

"It has been a spectacular rise for Karl, but his selection is well deserved and we look forward to watching him play his part on Saturday night," says coach Steve Hansen.

"He and his family can be very proud about what he is about to achieve.

"It's also a special night for the Barrett family, with Beaudy, Scott and Jordie all starting the test match - the first trio of All Black brothers to do so - so we congratulate them on their historic milestone."

The full line-up (with caps) is:

All Blacks:1-Joe Moody (31), 2-Codie Taylor (29), 3-Owen Franks (95), 4-Samuel Whitelock (96) - captain, 5-Scott Barrett (16), 6-Liam Squire (15), 7-Sam Cane (53), 8-Luke Whitelock (2), 9-Aaron Smith (71), 10-Beauden Barrett (62), 11-Rieko Ioane (13), 12-Ryan Crotty (32), 13-Anton Lienert-Brown (22), 14-Ben Smith (64), 15-Jordie Barrett (2)

Reserves: 16-Nathan Harris (11), 17- Karl Tu’inukuafe (0), 18-Ofa Tuungafasi (14), 19-Vaea Fifita (5), 20-Ardie Savea (22), 21-TJ Perenara (42), 22-Damian McKenzie (12), 23-Ngani Laumape (4)


Contact Newshub with your story tips: