Golf: New Zealand finishes fourth at Eisenhower Trophy in Ireland

  • 09/09/2018
Daniel Hillier.
Daniel Hillier. Photo credit: Photosport

New Zealand has finished fourth at the Eisenhower Trophy in Ireland after letting a three-shot lead slip in Ireland on Sunday (NZ time).

The Kiwi team of Daniel Hillier, Denzel Ieremia and Kerry Mountcastle began the final round full of confidence after strong second and third rounds, but couldn't deliver when needed most.

Ieremia struggled with a final-round three over par 76, leaving Hillier's 70 and Mountcastle's 71 as the two counting scores towards the final total.

That meant the Kiwis finished the day with a combined five-under par which wasn't enough to hold the lead. 

New Zealand finished with a final score of 545 - four shots behind inners winners Denmark (541) who shot 13-under par for the day. They were four shots behind New Zealand heading into the final round.

The United States finished second (542) and Spain in third-place (544).

New Zealand's only previous win at the Eisenhower Trophy was when Michael Campbell, Stephen Scahill, Phil Tataurangi and Grant Moorhead lifted the trophy in Vancouver, Canada in 1992.