Bledisloe Cup: Brodie Retallick returns from injury for All Blacks

Brodie Retallick will return to test rugby this weekend against the Wallabies in Tokyo, bouncing back from the shoulder injury that's kept him out for six weeks.

The star All Blacks lock hasn't featured since the win over Argentina in Nelson, but will come off the bench on Saturday, with Sam Whitelock and Scott Barrett starting ahead of him.

Retallick's physical approach and wide skillset is always missed when he's away, and was a talking point among South Africans before the two tests against the Springboks.

Returning from injury is a bit of a theme for this week's team. Flanker Liam Squire and prop Joe Moody are both back from layoffs, while reserve tighthead prop Nepo Laulala will play his first test of the year, after a long struggle with a broken arm.

Elsewhere, Damian McKenzie will start at fullback, with Ben Smith moving to the right wing and Richie Mo'unga coming off the bench, 

Mo'unga has excelled in McKenzie's usual bench spot, as Beauden Barrett's first-five back-up over the last two tests, while McKenzie was unavailable through family bereavement.

That leaves plenty of second-half options. Mo'unga could come on at 10 and Barrett could switch to fullback, or if the game is in the bag, the double World Player of the Year could get a much deserved break, with Mo'unga and McKenzie steering the ship at the end. 

TJ Perenara starts at halfback, with Aaron Smith coming off the bench in a dead-rubber Bledisloe match.

all blacks lineup

Ardie Savea is at openside, with Sam Cane out injured, while Matt Todd is in the reserves. 

The All Blacks squad to face Australia is: 

1-Joe Moody, 2-Codie Taylor, 3-Owen Franks, 4-Sam Whitelock, 5-Scott Barrett, 6-Liam Squire, 7-Ardie Savea, 8-Kieran Read (captain), 9-TJ Perenara, 10-Beauden Barrett, 11-Rieko Ioane, 12-Sonny Bill Williams, 13-Ryan Crotty, 14-Ben Smith, 15-Damian McKenzie

Reserves: 16-Nathan Harris, 17-Karl Tu’inukuafe, 18-Nepo Laulala, 19-Brodie Retallick, 20-Matt Todd, 21-Aaron Smith, 22-Richie Mo’unga, 23-Anton Lienert-Brown