As it happened: Mitre 10 Cup premiership final - Auckland vs Canterbury

Phil Burleigh
Phil Burleigh in action for Canterbury in the premiership final. Photo credit: Photosport

Remember to refresh this page regularly for latest updates

Auckland 40 Canterbury 33

Auckland 40 (Manu, Ioane, Trainor, Clarke, Sosene, Fukofuka tries; 5 penalties)

Canterbury 33 (Penalty try, Bridge, Sanders tries; 4 penalties & 3 conversions)

Full time - Thats it! Auckland have beaten Canterbury 40-33 in a fantastic final. 

99th minute - Two minutes left in this thrilling final. 

95th minute - Evan Olmstead with fantastic work at the breakdwon to win Auckland a penalty. 

The kick is wide

93rd minute - Try to Fukofuka

Nanai makes a break down the sideline and hands an inside ball to Fukofuka who scores under the posts.

Conversion is good.

90th minute - Try to Sosene

On the stroke of half time the replacement scores to tie the game once again.

Conversion is good.

89th minute - Auckland win a penalty late in the first half. They decide to kick for touch. 

87th minute - Phil Burleigh is off for Sam Beard

85th minute - Try to Sanders

After a few phases the Canterbury flanker spins out of a tackle and gets the first try of extra time. 

Conversion is good. 

82nd minute - Canterbury win the first penalty of extra time. 

Brett Cameron's kick is short.

10 minutes each way coming up at Eden park.

80th minute - Heroic defence from Canterbury, after 30 phases Auckland knock it on and we are heading to extra time. 

78th minute - Auckland gaining some momentum on attack here. 

76th minute - Ere Enari with some great work at the breakdown resulting in a Canterbury penalty. 

72nd minute - Try to Caleb Clarke

Four penalties in a row conceded by Canterbury. After knocking on the door for so long. Caleb Clarke scores out wide. 

Harry Plummer knocks the kick over. 

67th minute - Auckland win a penalty after Chris King left his feet. Auckland kick for touch.

62nd minute - Try to Trainor

The rain seems to have eased slightly as Auckland enjoy a great period of attack. Putting 20 phases together before spinning the ball wide where Jordan Trainor scores. 

Conversion is good.

56th minute - The rain is making things very difficult. Canterbury win another penalty right out in front after Jordan Trainor fails to release the ball. 

Brett Cameron makes the kick.

53rd minute - Taleni Seu comes on for Michael Fatialofa.

52nd minute - Brett Cameron knocks over another Canterbury penalty. Rain starting to become a factor now.

50th minute - Sef Fa’agase is replaced by Chris King and Nathan Vella comes off for Brodie McAlister

48th minute - TRY to Ioane

Auckland win a penalty off the Canterbury scrum and big number eight Akira Ione takes a quick tap and goes over. 

Conversion is wide.

47th minute - Great defence from Canterbury forces an Auckland knock-on.

46th minute - Penalty to Auckland after Luke Whitelock was called offside. They opt for the scrum.

44th minute - Auckland starting to gather some momentum with back to back penalties. Can they take advantage of the man in the bin?

42nd minute - Penalty to Auckland and Canterbury lose Billy Harmon after being given a yellow card for a dangerous tackle on Jordan Trainor.

41st minute - As the rain starts to fall harder the second half gets underway.

Halt Time - Auckland 7 (Manu try; one conversion)

Canterbury 20 ( Penalty try, George Bridge, two conversions & two penalties)

40th minute - Auckland concede a penalty right on half time after the Auckland front row collapsed again.

Brett Cameron slots it. 

40th minute - Akira Ioane comes back on after 10 minutes in the bin. Auckland back to 15. 

35th minute - Try to Manu

Auckland hit straight back

Captain TJ Faiane takes a quick tap and gives a great inside ball to the centre who scores under the post.

Conversion is successful.

32nd minute - Try to Bridge

A great short ball and George Bridge breaks the tackle of Nanai to score. 

Conversion is good.

29th minute - Penalty Try

After being warned on the play before Akira Ioane comes in from the side. He gets a yellow card for his efforts. 

27th minute - Canterbury win another penalty after the Auckland forwards collapse the maul. All Canterbury so far this game. 

25th minute - It's all Canterbury at the moment as they win another penalty and kick for touch. Just outside Aucklands 22.

22nd minute - Canterbury win another penalty after Akira Ioane fails to release the player. 

Brett Cameron hits the post. 

20th minute - Canterbury go close with a great attack but referee Glen jackson rules in a knock-on. Auckland scrum.

16th minute - Prattley has failed his HIA and won't be back in this game. 

15th minute - Auckalnd win a penalty after great work at the breakdown by TJ Faiane.

11th minute - Brett Cameron has the first points in the final. 

Ninth minute - Canterbury win another penalty right out in front after Adrian Choat failed to roll away.

Eighth minute - Canterbury win a penalty after the front row angled in during the scrum, they kick for touch. 

Sixth minute - Sam Prattley is leaving the field for an HIA he isreplaced by Jarred Adams

Third minute - Auckland win a penalty.

Penalty is missed to the right.

First minute - Canterbury kick off and get the final under way from Eden Park.


Kia ora, good afternoon and welcome to Newshub's live updates of the Auckland vs Canterbury Mitre 10 cup premiership final at Eden Park 

It's a battle of the two most successful teams in history, Auckland winning 16 titles and Canterbury having 14. 

Canterbury have won nine of the last 10 titles and have had the better of the two teams in recent finals, beating Auckland in 2015 and 2012. But that wasn't the case this year, with the northerners coming out 34-29 victors in the regular season. 

Auckland have to go back to 2007, when they last lifted a trophy, beating Wellington in the final.

Tonight looms as a battle of the number eights. Auckland's Akira Ioane is coming off a standout performance in the semi-final against Wellington, while Canterbury number eight Luke Whitelock will provide the visitors with solid defence and great work rate around the breakdown.

Look for this to be the standout battle throughout the game.

Auckland: 15-Jordan Trainor, 14-Melani Nanai, 13-Tumua Manu, 12-TJ Faiane (c), 11- Salesi Rayasi, 10-Harry Plummer, 9-Jonathan Ruru, 8-Akira Ioane, 7-Adrian Choat, 6-Evan Olmstead, 5-Michael Fatialofa, 4-Fa’atiga Lemalu, 3-Marcel Renata, 2-Robbie Abel, 1-Sam Prattley

Reserves: Mike Sosene, Jarred Adams, Marco Fepulea’i, Taleni Seu, Hoskins Sotutu, Leon Fukofuka, Daniel Kirkpatrick, Caleb Clarke

Canterbury: 15-George Bridge, 14-Josh McKay, 13-Braydon Ennor, 12-Phil Burleigh, 11-Caleb Makene, 10-Brett Cameron, 9-Mitch Drummond (c), 8-Luke Whitelock, 7-Billy Harmon, 6-Reed Prinsep, 5-Mitch Dunshea, 4-Luke Romano, 3-Sef Fa’agase, 2-Nathan Vella, 1-Alex Hodgman

Reserves: Brodie McAlister, Harrison Allan, Chris King, Tom Sanders, Tom Christie, Ere Enari, Sam Beard, Ngane Punivai

More to come.