Kiwis vs England: Wayne Bennett makes four changes for final test

Richie Myler replaces the injured Sam Tomkins.
Richie Myler replaces the injured Sam Tomkins. Photo credit: AAP

England head coach Wayne Bennett has made four enforced changes to his 19-man squad for Monday's (NZ time) third league test against the Kiwis at Elland Road Stadium in Leeds.

Richie Myler, Stefan Ratchford, Joe Greenwood and Reece Lyne come in for Sean O'Loughlin, Sam Tomkins and Daryl Clark, who all miss out due to injury, and George Burgess, who is suspended four matches for eye gouging.

England lead the three-test series 2-0 and a win would see them sweep the Kiwis for the third time (1993, 2007) on English soil.

England rugby director Kevin Sinfield is challenging the players to perform as if it was a final.

"With the English mentality of the past, 2-1 was probably acceptable," he said. "But it's not now - it's got to be 3-0.

"If we want to be where we want to be, we've got to win games when the pressure isn't quite on, as well as when it is."

The England squad to face New Zealand is:

England: 1-Jonny Lomax, 2-Tommy Makinson, 3-Jake Connor, 4-Oliver Gildart, 5- Jermaine McGillvary, 6-George Williams, 7-Richie Myler, 8-Chris Hill, 9-Josh Hodgson, 10-James Graham (c), 11-John Bateman, 12-Elliott Whitehead, 13-Luke Thompson

Bench: 14-Adam Milner, 15-Tom Burgess, 16-Joe Greenwood, 17-Stefan Ratchford, 18-Mark Percival, 19-Reece Lyne


Join us at 4am Monday for live updates of the third test between the Kiwis and England.