Blackcaps vs India: Shubman Gill, Vijay Shankar called into Indian squad for NZ tour

Uncapped teenage batsman Shubman Gill and all-rounder Vijay Shankar have replaced suspended duo Hardik Pandya and KL Rahul in India's limited-overs squad to face the Blackcaps.

India face the Blackcaps in five one-day internationals and three T20 matches, with the first match on January 23 at Napiers' McLean Park.

The Board of Control for Cricket India (BCCI) has banned Pandya and Rahul from any form of cricket for what were perceived to be sexist remarks made on an Indian TV show Koffee with Karan, hosted by Bollywood filmmaker Karan Johar.

Pandya spoke about "hook-ups" with several women, said he liked to observe women at bars or nightclubs, and liked to be open with his parents about the liaisons.

He's since apologised for his comments, which Indian captain Virat Kohil called "inappropriate".

Now Gill and Shankar have a chance to shine against New Zealand, and show selectors why they should be named in the World Cup squad. The tournament starts in May and runs through to July.

Shankar joins the Indian team in Adelaide for Tuesday's second ODI against Australia, while Gill won't link up with the team until they land in New Zealand on Saturday.

Despite not having played for India's senior team, Gill has had plenty of experience playing in New Zealand with the U19s and the India A side in the last 12 months.

The 19-year-old led India to the U19 World Cup title last year, when he was named Man of the Tournament, and returned with India A in November, where he scored a 124 across three games. 

"It is a big advantage [to be picked for the New Zealand tour]," Gill told the Press Trust of India. "I played well there in the U19 World Cup and now again, I have got the opportunity. 

"As I have done well there, I can say that there isn't much adjustment needed in the technique. If I get an opportunity, I will just need to handle the pressure that comes with playing for India.

"Mentally, it will be different for sure, but I am ready."

Before coming to New Zealand, India still has two more ODI matches to play against Australia.

India ODI squad to tour New Zealand: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Vijay Shankar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Siraj, Khaleel Ahmed, Mohammed Shami.

NZ tour schedule: 

  • January 23: First ODI in Napier, 3pm
  • Jan 26: Second ODI in Mt Maunganui, 3pm
  • Jan 28: Third ODI in Mt Maunganui, 3pm
  • Jan 31: Fourth ODI in Hamilton, 3pm
  • February 3: Fifth ODI in Wellington, 3pm
  • Feb 6: First T20 in Wellington, 8pm
  • Feb 8: Second T20 in Auckland, 7pm
  • Feb 10: Third T20 in Hamilton, 8pm


Joiin us at 3pm January 23 for live updates of the Blackcaps vs India ODI at Napier.