Blackcaps vs Bangladesh: New Zealand win toss, ask visitors to bat

An unbeaten 66-run opening stand has the Blackcaps in charge of the opening test against Bangladesh.

Jeet Raval (51) and Tom Latham (35) coasted through to stumps after their bowlers fought back hard in Hamilton.

Bangladesh had been 122/1 with an over to go in the opening session of play but lost nine for 102, crumbling to 234 all out.

Neil Wagner (5/47) starred with the ball claiming a sixth five-wicket bag while Tim Southee snared three for himself.

Tamim Iqbal was outstanding with the bat scoring 126 from 128 balls.

Tamim Iqbal raised his bat.
Tamim Iqbal raised his bat. Photo credit: Photosport

Through the morning, the tourists proved themselves more adept at the longer format than the one-day mode with Tamim on 86, after bringing up his 50 in 37 balls.

After the restart, he reached his milestone off 100 balls, stroking a four off Neil Wagner.

But two quick wickets saw the Blackcaps wrestle back some momentum at 149/4, with Wagner removing Mohammad Mithun, caught Tom Latham, for eight and Tom Southee finding the edge Soumya Sarakar's bat, caught by wicketkeeper BJ Watling.

Tamim's brilliant knock came to an end at 126 when he lofted Colin de Grandhomme straight to Kane Williamson at mid-on leaving the tourists 180/5 halfway through the day.

Earlier Trent Boult made the early breakthrough, after New Zealand won the toss and asked Bangladesh to bat first at Seddon Park.

Tamim and Shadman Islam put on a 50-run opening stand in less than 10 overs, before Boult struck, bowling Shadnam for 24.

The pair took advantage of some wayward bowling from new-ball bowlers Boult and Tim Southee.

As the change bowlers stemmed the run flow, Neil Wagner claimed the second wicket just before lunch, coaxing Mominul Haque (12) into an edge behind to wicketkeeper BJ Watling.

Earlier, captain Kane Williamson confirmed the Blackcaps starting line-up revealed yesterday, with three seam bowlers - Boult, Southee and Wagner - and lone spin bowler Todd Astle.

Bowler Matt Henry and batsman Will Young were the two NZ squad members to miss selection.

The Bangladesh players are wearing black arm bands in honour of the Chawkbazar fire victims in Dhaka this week, as well as former Bangladesh cricket coach Syed Altaf Hossain, who also died this week.

Bangladesh have never beaten New Zealand in 13 previous test encounters - they've drawn three.

New Zealand: Jeet Raval, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson (capt), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling (wk), Colin de Grandhomme, Todd Astle, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Shadman Islam, Mominul Haque, Mohammad Mithun, Mohammad Mahmudullah (capt), Liton Das (wk), Soumya Sarkar, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Khaled Ahmed, Abu Jayed, Ebadat Hossain


Contact Newshub with your story tips: