A-League: Phoenix duo Roy Krishna, Filip Kurto named in team of season

Wellington Phoenix stars Roy Krishna and Filip Kurto have been named in the A-League's Professional Footballers Association team of the season.

Krishna was an obvious choice in the side, after winning the Johnny Warren Medal for A-League Player of the Year on Monday and the 'Golden Boot' with 18 goals last season.

Kurto, who is leaving the Phoenix for Western United, was named as goalkeeper, after making the most saves last season.

The 16-strong squad was dominated by players from Perth Glory and Sydney FC, as they prepare for Sunday night's Grand Final in Western Australia.

Six Glory players were selected, with Diego Castro named captain, after receiving the most votes from players across the league.

Fellow Glory players Jason Davidson, Shane Lowry, Chris Ikonomidis and Neil Kilkenny were also named in the starting line-up, while goalkeeper Liam Reddy was named as the reserve keeper.

Sydney had the second-most representatives, with four players.

Rhyan Grant and Brandon O'Neill were named in the starting line-up, with Milos Ninkovic and Adam Le Fondre on the bench.

Bart Schenkeveld (Melbourne City), Ola Toivonen (Melbourne Victory), Michael Jakobsen and Isaias (both Adelaide) also feature in the team.

Perth Glory coach Tony Popovic was named manager, after leading his side to the Premiers Plate with two rounds to spare.

PFA A-League team of the season:


Goalkeeper: Filip Kurto (Phoenix)

Defenders: Jason Davidson (Glory), Shane Lowry (Glory), Bart Schenkeveld (Melbourne City), Rhyan Grant (Sydney FC)

Midfielders: Neil Kilkenny (Glory), Brandon O'Neill (Sydney FC), Diego Castro (Glory, captain)

Forwards: Chris Ikonomidis (Glory), Ola Toivonen (Melbourne Victory), Roy Krishna (Phoenix)

Substitutes: Liam Reddy (Glory), Michael Jakobsen (Adelaide), Isaias (Adelaide), Milos Ninkovic (Sydney FC), Adam Le Fondre (Sydney FC)

Coach: Tony Popovic (Glory)