Super Rugby 2019: Depleted Chiefs name side for Sharks clash

The injury-ridden Chiefs have been forced into more changes for Saturday night's Super Rugby clash against the Sharks.

Missing from last weekend's breathtaking draw with the Highlanders are Michael Allardice and Lachlan Boshier, both suffering injuries in Dunedin.

Boshier is dealing with sore ribs, while Allardice has an ankle complaint. 

The duo join a jam-packed medical ward that includes Damian McKenzie, Brodie Retallick, Kane Hames and Tiaan Falcon.

Canadian import Tyler Ardron shifts to lock to partner Mitchell Brown, allowing Jesse Parete to move from the bench to the blindside flank. 

The impressive Luke Jacobson will wear the number-eight jersey, while Mitch Karpick returns from a knee strain to start on the openside.

Coach Colin Cooper will be relieved that his backline left Forsyth Bar Stadium unharmed and is unchanged for the FMG Stadium encounter. 

Cooper is wary of a confident Sharks side coming into Hamilton, after their draw with the Crusaders last week.

"The Sharks are a powerful pack and are coming off a strong performance against the Crusaders," he noted.

"Again, we will be challenged this week. In order for us to be successful, we need to capitalise on our opportunities and remain focused on delivering our game for a full 80 minutes. 

"We do this, then we will continue the momentum from where we finished last week and deliver an improved performance."

Chiefs: 1-Atu Moli, 2-Nathan Harris, 3-Nepo Laulala, 4-Tyler Ardron, 5-Mitchell Brown, 6-Jesse Parete, 7-Mitchell Karpick, 8-Luke Jacobson, 9-Brad Weber, 10-Marty McKenzie, 11-Etene Nabai-Seturo, 12-Anton Lienert-Brown, 13-Tumua Manu, 14-Sean Wainui, 15-Solomon Alaimalo

Reserves: 16-Liam Polwart, 17-Ryan Coxon, 18-Angus Ta'avao, 19-Taleni Seu, 20-Pita Gus Sowakula, 21-Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22-Shaun Stevenson, 23-Alex Nankivell


Join us for live updates of the Chiefs v Sharks from 7:35 Saturday night.