Super Rugby 2019 live: Chiefs v Sharks in Hamilton

[Please refresh for the latest updates]

Chiefs 29 - 23 Sharks

Full-time! Huge effort from the Chiefs at the death to hold on for a huge victory. 

82 min: 15 phases now! 

80 min: The Sharks turn the ball over just before the hooter sounds and look to attack.

78 min: Penalty for the Chiefs and wow they have been good in the final 20 of this match. 

75 min: Massive pressure on the Chiefs and boy do they stand up! They win a scrum feed. 

73 min: The Cheifs have turned this game on it's head - what a space of two minutes. 

70 min: TRY - Chiefs, wow! Off the kickoff, Alaimalo sets Nankivell through the gap - he finds the fullback who sets up Weber for his second of the night. Kick is good. Chiefs 29 - 23 Sharks. 

68 min: TRY - Chiefs, massive work rate from the Chiefs boys! Lots of phases and people trying go over, in the end in the in-form man Anton Lienert-Brown who scores. Kick is wide. Chiefs 22 - 23 Sharks. 

66 min: Really good attack from Wainui who links with Nankivell - the Chiefs win a penalty in really good field position. 

63 min: The Chiefs have good field position - looking to get the lead back ,just as I type that - the Sharks win a penalty. 

60 min: The kick the penalty goal, it's good, Chiefs 17 - 23 Sharks.

59 min: Sharks win a penalty now - momentum swing much! 

57 min: TRY - Sharks, Ruan Botha scores for the visitors - a big drive and the Sharks take the lead. Kick is good. Chiefs 17 - 20 Sharks. 

56 min: Penalty goes to the Sharks and Nathan Harris has been sent off - big moment in the match. 

54 min: Really good work from the Chiefs as Luke Jocobson collects a loose kick - but the Chiefs get let down at the breakdown, the Sharks win a penalty. 

52 min: Bad turnover by the Chiefs and the Sharks look to charge forward. 

49 min: The Sharks go through plenty of phases but a knock on kills all momentum. Chiefs scrum. 

46 min: Stagnant attack from the Chiefs and eventually they come up with a knock on! Sharks ball. 

42 min: Penalty won by the Chiefs out in front but Marty McKenzie can't make it.

41 min: Back underway for the second half. 

40 min: Good attack from the Sharks but there is a mistake - the Cheifs try and counter but the ball is kicked out. Half Time.

37 min: The Sharks earn a penalty as Jacobson is penalised for not releasing - kick for goal is the call. It's good. Chiefs 17 - 13 Sharks. 

35 min: TRY - Chiefs, simple move off the lineout and Anton Lienert-Brown goes close, Mitch Karpik grabs the ball and dives over to score - the Chiefs are back in front. Kick is good. Chiefs 17 - 10 Sharks. 

34 min: Chiefs win a penalty and look to kick to the corner. 

31 min: TRY - Sharks, Solomon Alaimalo comes up with the error - the fullback drops the high ball and it falls straight to a charging Lunga Ncube who goes over. Kick is good. Chiefs 10 - 10 Sharks. 

30 min: The Sharks go for the points and Bosch converts. Chiefs 10 - 3 Sharks

29 min: Pushing and shoving from both teams no discipline the Sharks come away with the penalty. 

26 min: TRY - Chiefs, Atu Moli makes a fantastic break and then the hosts recycle the ball and pass it to their captain Brad Weber who jogs over for the opening try. Kick is good. Chiefs 10 - 0 Sharks. 

25 min: Lots of play in the middle of the park here - lots of runs and tackles being made. 

23 min: Huge break from the Sharks - Curwin Bosch with the initial break - he is doing everything tonight but a knock on eases the pressure on the Chiefs. 

19 min: More heroic defence from the hosts and they force a mistake from the Sharks - Chiefs scrum.

18 min: The Sharks charge on forward as the Chiefs look to stay staunch on defence. 

17 min: Massive scrum from the Chiefs and they win the penalty against the feed.

14 min: Really average play from the Chiefs and they knock it on - Sharks have the ball going forward now. 

13 min: Really good defence from the Chiefs and they force a scrum.

9 min: The Chiefs win a penalty and opt to kick the points, it's good. Chiefs 3 - 0 Sharks. 

8 min: Creative attack from Wainui and the Chiefs are charging forward. 

7 min: A great grubber from the Sharks finds the sideline - forcing the Chiefs back. 

4 min: Great defence from the Sharks , they hold up Parete and force the maul - they earn the turnover from that. 

3 min: Knock on from the kickoff from the Sharks and the Chiefs have the scrum feed. 

1 min: Kick off here in Hamilton. 


Kia ora, good evening and welcome to Newshub's live coverage of the Super Rugby clash from FMG Stadium in Hamilton.

The injury-ridden Chiefs have been forced into more changes for Saturday night's Super Rugby clash against the Sharks.

Missing from last weekend's breathtaking draw with the Highlanders are Michael Allardice and Lachlan Boshier, both suffering injuries in Dunedin.

Boshier is dealing with sore ribs, while Allardice has an ankle complaint. 

The duo join a jam-packed medical ward that includes Damian McKenzie, Brodie Retallick, Kane Hames and Tiaan Falcon.

Canadian import Tyler Ardron shifts to lock to partner Mitchell Brown, allowing Jesse Parete to move from the bench to the blindside flank. 

The impressive Luke Jacobson will wear the number-eight jersey, while Mitch Karpick returns from a knee strain to start on the openside.

Coach Colin Cooper will be relieved that his backline left Forsyth Bar Stadium unharmed and is unchanged for the FMG Stadium encounter. 

Cooper is wary of a confident Sharks side coming into Hamilton, after their draw with the Crusaders last week.

"The Sharks are a powerful pack and are coming off a strong performance against the Crusaders," he noted.

"Again, we will be challenged this week. In order for us to be successful, we need to capitalise on our opportunities and remain focused on delivering our game for a full 80 minutes. 

"We do this, then we will continue the momentum from where we finished last week and deliver an improved performance."

Chiefs: 1-Atu Moli, 2-Nathan Harris, 3-Nepo Laulala, 4-Tyler Ardron, 5-Mitchell Brown, 6-Jesse Parete, 7-Mitchell Karpick, 8-Luke Jacobson, 9-Brad Weber, 10-Marty McKenzie, 11-Etene Nanai-Seturo, 12-Anton Lienert-Brown, 13-Tumua Manu, 14-Sean Wainui, 15-Solomon Alaimalo

Reserves: 16-Liam Polwart, 17-Ryan Coxon, 18-Angus Ta'avao, 19-Taleni Seu, 20-Pita Gus Sowakula, 21-Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22-Shaun Stevenson, 23-Alex Nankivell

Sharks: 1-James Scott, 2-Cullen Collopy, 3-Roger Zondi, 4-Lunga Ncube, 5-Andrew Evans, 6-Adam Mountfort, 7-Wian Vosloo, 8-Kwanda Dimaza, 9-Zee Makabela, 10-Murray Koster, 11-Leolin Zas, 12-Jeremy Ward (Captain), 13-DJ Falconer, 14-Lwazi Mvovo, 15-Rhyno Smith

Reserves: 16-Connor Botha, 17-Tian de Jager, 18-Jeandre Labuschagne, 19-Vian Fourie, 20-Damian Stevens, 21-Inny Radebe, 22-Sicelo Tole

Contact Newshub with your story tips: