Kiwis v Tonga: Benji Marshall named to start for New Zealand

The returning Benji Marshall and Shaun Johnson will form the halves pairing for the Kiwis in their one-off test against Tonga at Mt Smart on Saturday.

Marshall will play his first test for New Zealand in seven years, slotting back into the number seven jersey for his 28th Kiwis appearance.

Four debutants have been named by coach Michael Maguire in the Storm's Jahrome Hughes, Roosters' Zane Tetevano, and Sharks Briton Nikora, who will start in the second row.

Dallin Watene–Zelezniak will captain the side from the wing, replacing Jamayne Isaako.

kiwis v tonga teams
Photo credit: Newshub.

Kenny Bromwich joins Nikora as the starting back row for the injured Adam Blair and Kevin Proctor. 

The extended bench features Hughes, Tetevano, Leeson Ah Mau, Nelson Asofa-Solomona, James Fisher-Harris, and Kieran Foran.


Join us for live updates of Kiwis v Tonga from 5:40pm Saturday