Darts: Kiwi Darren Herewini crowned World Cup singles champion

Darren Herewini at the 2017 Auckland Darts Masters.
Darren Herewini at the 2017 Auckland Darts Masters. Photo credit: Photosport

New Zealand's Darren Herewini has etched his name in darts history, winning the World Darts Federation World Cup singles title in Romania on Sunday (NZ time). 

Herewini overcame Australia's Peter Machin 7-6 in a thrilling final that saw him become the first Kiwi male to win the title. 

In the deciding leg, Machin had two darts at double 20 to win, but missed and Herewini made him pay, taking out 67 on double 14 to claim the title. 

Previous winners of the event include former five-time world champions Raymond van Barneveld and Eric Bristow. 

In 1991, New Zealand's Jill MacDonald won the women's title, while compatriot Noeline Gear won six years later. 


Contact Newshub with your story tips: