Mitre 10 Cup: Tasman Mako storm home against Hawke's Bay

  • 12/10/2019

Tasman have rounded out their perfect Mitre 10 Cup regular season with a resounding 47-28 win over the Hawke's Bay in Napier.

After a competitive first half in which they were held to a 19-14 advantage, the Mako ran away with the contest in the second stanza to become the first team in 12 years to go through round-robin play undefeated.

Auckland were the last team to achieve the feat in 2007, before they advanced to win the national provincial title.

Hawke's Bay lock's Geoff Cridge was dished a yellow card for a high tackle in the 28th minute, when Tasman began to sieze control of the match.

Brothers Leicester and Tima Faingaanuku scored a try apiece to swing the momentum in Tasman's favour, and the floodgates soon opened.

The visitors finished with a seven tries to two advantage, although a late bonus-point helped secure Hawke's Bay a Championship home semi-final against Otago next weekend.

Meanwhile, Tasman look set to take on Auckland in their Premiership semi-final, unless North Harbour are able to nab a bonus-point win over Canterbury in Christchurch on Sunday.

Tasman 47 (Leicester Faingaanuku 2, Sione Havili, Tima Faingaanuku, Mitch Hunt, Alex Nankivell, Hugh Roach tries; Mitch Hunt 4 con, David Havili 2 con) Hawke's Bay 28 (Marino Mikaele-Tu'u, Devan Flanders, Caleb Makene, Jason Long tries; Tiaan Falcon 3 con, Lincoln McClutchie con)



Contact Newshub with your story tips: