Tennis: Daniil Medvedev strikes umpire's chair twice in stunning meltdown at ATP Cup

Russian tennis star Daniil Medvedev has let his emotions get the better of him, bashing the umpire's chair in a bizarre meltdown in his match against Diego Schwartzman at the ATP Cup.

After a verbal confrontation with the Argentine, which Medvedev said occurred when his opponent failed to acknowledge winning a point from a let cord, the Russian then took out his frustrations on chair umpire Mohamed Lahyani.

Or more specifically, the chair itself.

Medvedev said he was initially frustrated when he was trying to find out whether he received a warning for the incident with Schwartzman, before Lahyani ultimately handed down a point penalty.

Medvedev, who is due to play in next week's men's ASB Classic in Auckland, said he would wait to see if there would be any further sanctions. 

"The second code violation for sure was deserved, so I don't argue," he said of striking the chair.

"In fact, why I got the second one was because I was arguing with the first one, because I didn't hear it."

Medvedev said it was "not for him to decide" whether the highly unusual incident would be taken any further.

"Nothing happened to the chair, nothing happened to anybody, I didn't break my racquet," he said.

"I would say I got a code violation - I will get a fine. Usually when you get a code violation, you get a fine for code violation.

"I don't think there is anything else to do."

After winning the first set, Medvedev went on to lose the second following the incident, but bounced back to claim the match, taking out the decider.

With Karen Khachanov winning his singles, Russia claimed the tie and moved through to Saturday's semi-finals