Blackcaps v India: New Zealand complete one-day series whitewash at Mt Maunganui

Late heroics from Hamish Bennett and Colin de Grandhomme have steered New Zealand to a clean sweep of India in their three-match one-day series.

Requiring 297 to overhaul the tourists' first-innings score, the Blackcaps were in control early, with opening batsmen Martin Guptill and Henry Nicholls compiling a century partnership in even time.

Both chalked up half-centuries, with Nicholls top-scoring on 80 runs, but after the home side lost captain Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor and Nicholls in quick succession, the middle order had to steady the ship.

Wicketkeeper Tom Latham anchored that effort, but de Grandhomme bounced back from some indifferent batting form this summer with a rapid-fire 58 off 28 balls to bring the chase home. His effort featured six fours and three sixes.

Williamson won the toss and sent the Indians into bat, and his bowlers rewarded him quickly, when Kyle Jamieson bowled Mayank Agarwal in the second over.

Skipper Virat Kohli failed to reach double figures and at 62/3, his side were teetering.

Consecutive hundred partnerships between Shreyas Iyer and KJ Rahul, and then Rahul and Manish Pandey restored India's hopes, but when Rahul and Pandey fell to consecutive deliveries from Bennett, they were again in trouble.

Hamish Bennett celebrates a wicket against India
Hamish Bennett celebrates a wicket against India. Photo credit: Photosport

Rahul had brought up his fourth ODI century, finishing with 112 off 113 balls, while Iyer had 62 off 63, but their successors finished the innings with a whimper and fell well short of a competitive total. 

Bennett, who had earlier removed Kohli, also picked up Shardul Thakur in the penultimate over for figures of 4/64.

In response, New Zealand achieved the target with 17 balls remaining, with de Grandhomme stroking a four for the winning runs.

Nicholls was named Man of the Match, while Taylor was Player of the Series, averaging 194 runs across three innings with the bat.

The rivals will now regroup for a two-test series, which begins in Wellington on February 21.