Blackcaps v India: New Zealand win toss, bowl first at Hagley Oval

Kyle Jamieson's maiden international five-wicket bag has helped New Zealand dismiss India for 242 in their first innings of the second test at Christchurch's Hagley Oval.

Striking with regularity throughout the opening day, the towering Auckland - in just his second test for the Blackcaps - capturing the scalps of opener Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja and Umesh Yadav, as the tourists lower order capitulated.

After winning the first test in Wellington earlier this week, New Zealand are now in early control of the second. After rain delayed the start, they reached stumps at 63/0 with shadows lengthening across the ground, and openers Tom Blundell (29) and Tom Latham (27) still intact.

Three Indian batsmen reached half-centuries without pushing on to really big scores. Shaw had 54 before lunch, but lost his wicket late in the opening session, when Latham took an acrobatic catch off Jamieson in the slips.

Hanuma Vihari top-scored for India with 55, but fell just before tea, caught by wicketkeeper BJ  Watling, off left-armer Neil Wagner.

His 83-run partnership with Pujara seemed to put their side on the front foot, but when Pujara skied the ball high for Watling to circle around and catch, India were 197/6 soon after the meal break and lost their last five wickets for 45 runs. 

Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah rattled on 26 for the last wicket, or their total could have been even less daunting. 

Watling endured a mixed day with the gloves, missing a couple of chances, but snaring three behind the stumps. New-ball bowlers Tim Southee and Trent Boult had two wickets each.

Indian captain Virat Kohli continued his unhappy tour of New Zealand, falling cheaply again after lunch.

Dismissed for 2 and 19 in the tourists' first-test loss at Wellington, the master batsman lasted just six balls into the second session on Saturday, trapped leg before wicket by Southee.

He reviewed the decision, without any conviction, and video replays confirmed the ball would have struck halfway up middle stump.

His exit reduced India to 85/3 and they tumbled to 113/4, when Southee found the edge of Ajinkya Rahane's bat, caught in the slips by Ross Taylor.

Tim Southee dismissed Virat Kohli in the second session
Tim Southee dismissed Virat Kohli in the second session Photo credit: Photosport

NZ captain Kane Williamson won the toss and elected to field first.

The Blackcaps made one change to their team, with paceman Neil Wagner returning in place of Ajaz Patel, providing a four-pronged pace attack, alongside all-rounder Colin de Grandhomme.

Wagner missed the first test in Wellington due to the birth of his first child, born on February 19. 

Ishant Sharma failed a late fitness test and has been replaced by Umesh Yadav, while Ravi Ashwin was dropped in favour of Ravindra Jadeja. 

New Zealand: Tom Blundell, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling, Colin de Grandhomme, Tim Southee, Kyle Jamieson, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult

India: Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw,  Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c.), Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk),  Ravindra Jadeja, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami,  Jasprit Bumrah