Super Rugby 2020: Chiefs shuffle midfield deck against Waratahs

The Chiefs have made another change to their midfield for their clash with the Waratahs in Sydney on Saturday.

This time around, All Black Anton Lienert-Brown will combine with Tumua Manu in what will be the fourth variation used through the early season so far, as they look to bounce back from their 26-14 loss to the Brumbies last weekend.

Brad Weber returns to claim the starting halfback spot, while Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi rests. Lisati Milo-Harris backs up from the bench.

Solomon Alaimalo replaces Damian McKenzie at fullback, as the All Black takes one of his mandated rest weeks.

After a week off, Lachlan Boshier slides back into the No.6 jersey, with Luke Jacobson set for another stint on the sidelines due to his troublesome hamstring.

The front-row has suffered another All Blacks injury blow, with the loss of Atu Moli. 

Illness has ruled Moli out of the equation against the Waratahs, with Ross Geldenhuys stepping in as his replacement.

Sean Wainui switches to the left wing at the expense of Sam McNicol, while Shaun Stevenson slots in on the right.

Coach Warren Gatland reiterated the importance of a strong start, after conceding first in all of their matches to date.

"We were disappointed with our performance against the Brumbies in front of our fans," said Gatland.

"We want to get our campaign back on track. The boys are eager to get back out on the field and deliver an improved performance.

"We know that our starts need to be sharper, so that is a focus heading into this game."

The Waratahs have just one win from their opening four games - a 29-17 victory over the Lions last weekend.

But history will be on their side this weekend. The Chiefs haven't won in Sydney since 2017.

Chiefs: 1-Aidan Ross, 2-Samisoni Taukei'aho, 3-Ross Geldenhuys, 4-Michael Allardice, 5-Tyler Ardron, 6-Lachlan Boshier, 7-Sam Cane, 8-Pita Gus Sowakula, 9-Brad Weber, 10-Aaron Cruden, 11-Sean Wainui, 12-Anton Leinert-Brown, 13-Tumua Manu, 14-Shaun Stevenson, 15-Solomon Alaimalo

Bench: 16-Donald Maka, 17-Ryan Coxon, 18-Reuben O'Neill, 19-Naitoa Ah Kuoi, 20-Mitchell Karpik, 21-Lisati Milo Harris, 22-Kaleb Trask, 23-Alex Nankivell

Join us for live updates of Waratahs v Chiefs from 9:15pm Saturday