Cricket: Blackcaps Tim Southee, Tom Latham claim NZ Cricket's first-class awards

Tim Southee and Tom Latham.
Tim Southee and Tom Latham. Photo credit: Getty

Blackcaps duo Tim Southee and Tom Latham have been named best bowler and batsman respectively in NZ first-class cricket.

On day two of NZ Cricket's virtual awards on Wednesday, Southee won his third Winsor Cup, while Latham won his first Repath Cup.

Southee snared 41 test wickets at an average of 22 runs on pitches in Sri Lanka, Australia and at home in New Zealand.

"It's a great honour," Southee says. "When you see the great players who have won the award in the past, it’s pretty humbling to see my name on it."

Latham was a scoring machine, with 875 first-class runs from 12 test matches, including three centuries and a match-defining hundred in Colombo.

Selection to the 2019 ICC Test Team of the Year was the cherry on top.

Blackcaps coach Gary Stead says Latham's impact went far beyond simply scoring runs.

"This season, we faced some of the very best bowling attacks in the world and Tom was an absolute rock at the top for us.

"Even in Australia, when we were under severe pressure, he managed to dig in and deny them for extended periods of time - it’s that courage and determination I really admire."

Wellington batsman extraordinaire Devon Conway has been recognised for another remarkable year at the crease with his second Mens' Domestic Player of the Year award, adding to the domestic Twenty20 prize he received earlier in the week.

The South African, who became eligible for New Zealand selection last month, has scored at a startling rate this summer.

He tallied 701 Plunket Shield (four-day) runs at an average of 87 (including a highest score of 327 not out against Canterbury), 553 Ford Trophy (one-day) runs at an average of 55 and 543 Super Smash (T20), averaging at 67.

The women’s domestic award went to Northern Spirit’s Katie Gurrey, who also took out the Ruth Martin Cup for batting, after totalling 992 runs across the Hallyburton Johnstone Shield and Super Smash campaigns.

Wellington Blaze seamer Jess Kerr was rewarded for her break-out season, winning the Phyl Blackler Cup for domestic bowling, after topping both the women’s and men’s Super Smash wicket-taking tables.

The awards continue on Thursday, when the winners of the international T20 and one-day prizes will be named.

Awards so far:

Bert Sutcliffe Medal for Outstanding Services to Cricket: Ian Smith

Women’s Super Smash Player of the Year: Sophie Devine

Men's Super Smash Player of the Year: Devon Conway  

Men's Domestic Player of the Year: Devon Conway

Women’s Domestic Player of the Year: Katie Gurrey 

The Redpath Cup for first-class batting: Tom Latham

The Ruth Martin Cup for women’s domestic batting: Katie Gurrey

The Winsor Cup for first-class bowling: Tim Southee

The Phyl Blackler Cup for women’s domestic bowling: Jess Kerr