Cricket: Sophie Devine, Tim Southee capture 'Players' Player' awards

Whie Fern all-rounder Sophie Devine and Blackcaps bowler Tim Southee have been declared the winners of their respective 'Player's Player' award by the New Zealand Cricket Players Association.

The award is voted upon after each international match by both coaches and teammates on a 'one, two, three' points-based system over a 12-month period.

Regarded as one of the planet's premier batters, Devine was recognised by her peers for her sublime form in all formats of the game to win her third consecutive CPA Players' Award, a feat only matched by Blackcaps captain Kane Williamson.

"It's such an honour to receive the CPA Players' Award for a third time," said Devine.

"This is the most special award, as it comes from your peers and that’s what matters the most. It really does mean a lot."

Tim Southee.
Tim Southee. Photo credit: Photosport

Southee headed off several rivals in a very close Blackcaps voting result, before ultimately securing his second 'Players' Cap' with a compelling series against India at home.

After receiving the award he last won in 2013, the paceman was quick to acknowledge his teammates .

"Mostly, I am thankful to the other guys," said Southee. "To be part of a group of players with a collective approach toward achieving success is the most rewarding thing and something we can be really proud of as a group.

"It's a real honour to receive this award, as it means so much when it’s voted on by your peers."

The 31-year-old joins Williamson and batsman Ross Taylor as the only repeat winners of the men's prize.

2019/20 Cricket Players' Association Awards

CPA Players' Award: Sophie Devine
The Players' Cap: Tim Southee

CPA Players' Award leading vote recipients per format

One-day: Suzie Bates
T20: Sophie Devine

CPA Players' Award leading vote recipients from each series

South Africa in New Zealand: Sophie Devine
Twenty20 World Cup: Hayley Jensen

The Players' Cap leading vote recipients per format

Tests: Neil Wagner
One-day: Lockie Ferguson
T20: Tim Southee