NRL confirms 20-round revamped competition for 2020

The NRL has announced a 20-round restructure of its competition, after finalising negotiations with broadcasters on Tuesday.

The adjusted draw includes the two rounds already completed, meaning an additional 18 will be played, should the season return as planned on May 28.

That would mean the loss of only five rounds from the standard 25-round season. 

The Grand Final is scheduled for October 25 and would likely be played at the 30,000-seat Bankwest Stadium in Parramatta.

The competition draw will be determined in the coming weeks, including timing of State of Origin, which will be played in three consecutive weeks in November for the first time in its history.

ARL commissioner chairman Peter V'landys announced the rejigged schedule, after long consultation with broadcast partners, clubs, and key stakeholders.

On Wednesday, the Project Apollo committee will reconvene to iron out the remaining details on season structure.

The NZ Warriors have been granted an exemption to travel to Australia to resume the competition, but are still awaiting approval from the New South Wales Government to live and train together during their mandated 14-day quarantine.

Teams have been cleared to return to full training on May 4, before a three-week mini pre-season.