Cricket: White Ferns put trust in rookie duo Brooke Halliday, Fran Jonas to face world No.1 Australia

White Ferns rookie Brooke Haliday has continued her rapid rise, named in both the one-day and T20 squads to face Australia this month.

Halliday, 25, has impressed in her short time with the White Ferns, scoring back-to-back half centuries in New Zealand's series loss to England.

Sixteen-year-old Fran Jonas is another White Ferns rookie named in the T20 squad only, after making her ODI debut against England. The teenager has the chance to debut in the shorter form, as the only uncapped player in the squad.

Despite the poor performances against England, coach Bob Carter says the inexperienced pair have earned the chance to face the world's top-ranked side.

"Brooke and Fran have come in and impressed everyone," he says. "Brooke's performances first up against England showed she's got what it takes and we're excited to give her more opportunities at this level.

"Fran has fitted in extremely well, and shown a real willingness to learn and grow as a cricketer - her youthful exuberance is infectious."

Fast bowler Lea Tahuhu returns to the White Ferns in the ODI squad only, after recovering from a hamstring strain.

The 30-year-old had to be helped from the field in the loss to England in Christchurch and has been rested for the T20 series. 

The series will also give captain Sophie Devine the chance to become just the third White Fern to notch 100 appearances in T20 internationals, behind teammates Suzie Bates and Amy Satterthwaite.

The White Ferns play three T20 internationals against Australia, beginning March 28, before closing their season with three ODIs from April 4. 

White Ferns T20 squad: Sophie Devine (c), Maddy Green, Brooke Halliday, Fran Jonas, Amelia Kerr, Jess Kerr, Rosemary Mair, Frankie Mackay, Katey Martin, Thamsyn Newton, Hannah Rowe, Amy Satterthwaite.

White Ferns ODI squad: Sophie Devine (c), Lauren Down, Maddy Green, Brooke Halliday, Hayley Jensen, Leigh Kasperek (Games 2 & 3), Amelia Kerr, Jess Kerr, Frankie Mackay, Rosemary Mair, Katey Martin, Hannah Rowe (Game 1 only), Amy Satterthwaite, Lea Tahuhu