Cricket: Controversial run-out mars South Africa's ODI victory over Pakistan

Controversy has marred the finish of a thrilling one-day international between South Africa and Pakistan in Johannesburg, thanks to some questionable tactics from Proteas wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock.

With Pakistan needing 31 runs from the final over in pursuit of 342, opener Fakhar Zaman gave his side hope, with his score on 192 from 154 balls.

As the left-hander clubbed a drive to long-off, both batsmen set off for what should have been two runs.

But with Fakhar turning his back on the throw of South Africa's Aiden Markram, de Kock gestured as though the ball was going to the bowler's end. 

Instead, the ball crashed into the stumps at the striker's end, catching Fakhar well short of his ground and run out for 193.

De Kock's actions are seen to go against the spirit of the game, as Fakhar slowed down, thinking he was safe.

Meanwhile, cricket law 41.5.1 states that it is "unfair for any fielder willfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball".

But South African captain Temba Bavuma appears to have no issue with the incident.

"It was quite clever from Quinny," he says. "Maybe some people might criticise it for maybe not being in the spirit of the game, but it was an important wicket for us.

"Zaman was getting close to our target. Yeah, it was clever from Quinny.

"You've always got to look for ways, especially when things are not going your way, got to find ways to turn momentum around. Quinny did that - I don't think he broke the rules in any kind of way.

"It was a clever piece of cricket."

South Africa went on to claim victory by 17 runs, levelling the three-match series at 1-1, before the decider on Thursday.