Motorsport: Shane van Gisbergen wins Bathurst six hour to claim Mount Panorama triple crown

Kiwi driver Shane van Gisbergen has completed the Bathurst triple crown, winning Mount Panorama's six-hour race on Sunday.

Alongside Prestige Connex teammates Shane Smollen and Rob Rubis, van Gisbergen added the Bathurst six-hour title to his burgeoning trophy cabinet.

The Kiwi has now won all three major endurance races at Mount Panorama, capturing the 12-hour endurance race in 2016, before lifting the iconic Bathurst 1000 last year.

He's just the second driver to have completed the Bathurst triple crown, after Australian icon Paul Morris.

The Kiwi's win was all the more remarkable, after he was forced to overcome a five-second penalty in his final stint, after a breach at the restart. 

All up, van Gisbergen crossed the line 13 seconds ahead of the second-paced Tim Leahey and Beric Lynton of Bruce Lynton BM Service.

"Just gotta thank the team," van Gisbergen say. "It's awesome to be part of this team. 

"What an awesome day. It was a bit tricky in the beginning - we thought we were losing, but we just took the pain in the CPS early.

"It worked out great and we knew we had to pull a five-second gap. I had to push like anything through the traffic.

"I'll be sore tomorrow, but it's well worth it."

The Kiwi sits atop the 2021 V8 Supercars series standings, with a 150-point lead over teammate Jamie Whincup after five races.

Van Gisbergen also holds the lap record on the Mount Panorama circuit.