NRL: Canberra Raiders reach landmark milestone with classy victory over Gold Coast Titans

The Canberra Raiders brought up their 500th victory since joining the NRL in 1982 in style with a classy 20-4 victory over the Gold Coast Titans.

The 'Green Machine' where lead by Kiwis international Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad who ran for 270 metres, had six tackle busts, two offloads and 78 post contact metres to help his side to a three try to one victory.

The Raiders - who were looking to bounce back after their last gasp defeat to the Warriors - opened the scoring after just five minutes through Kiwi Jordan Rapana before Titans winger Corey Thompson finished spectacularly in the corner to send his send to the sheds 8-4 down.

The 'Green Machine' stormed out for the second stanza to extend their lead with bulldozing front rower Josh Paplii crashing over to extend his sides lead.

The Raiders capped off their impressive performance with a late try through Englishman Ryan Sutton to round out the scoring.

The victory sees the Raiders jump up into fourth place while the Titans drop out of the eight and down to ninth.

In the early game on Saturday, former Warriors interim coach Todd Payten's time at the North Queensland Cowboys has gone from bad to worse after another weak display.
The Cowboys slumped to a 48-10 defeat at the hands of the Cronulla Sharks where fullback Will Kennedy as he crossed for two tries, ran for 167 metres and had one linebreak and linebreak assist.

After the sides split a try apiece in the opening ten minutes, the Sharks exploded with seven consecutive four-pointers through Josh Dugan, Matt Moylan, Teig Wilton and doubles to Connor Tracey and Kennedy to see Cronulla bounce back from their tough defeat to the Paramatta Eels last week.

The Cowboys grabbed a consolation try through Valentine Holmes but it wasn't near enough as Payten's side fall to their fourth straight defeat to remain in 14th place while the Sharks rise up to seventh.

Join us at 8:15pm for live updates of the Warriors clash against the Sydney Roosters