Super Rugby Aotearoa: Week 10 team announcements

  • Updated
  • 30/04/2021

Official team lists and injury news for this week's round of Super Rugby Aotearoa.

Hurricanes v Highlanders

7:05pm Friday, April 30

Sky Stadium, Wellington

The Hurricanes have stuck with a familiar formula for their final game of this year's Super Rugby Aotearoa against the Highlanders.

They've made just two changes to the side that was pipped in heartbreaking fashion by the Chiefs on Friday.

Veteran wing Julian Savea returns to the starting side, while Billy Proctor is promoted from the bench, after making a big impression as a replacement in round nine.

Wing Pepesana Patafilo moves to the bench for a potential Super Rugby debut, while Vaea Fifita drops out of the gameday squad.

Hurricanes: 1-Xavier Numia, 2-Dane Coles, 3-Tyrell Lomax, 4-James Blackwell, 5-Scott Scrafton, 6-Reed Prinsep, 7-Du'Plessis Kirifi, 8-Devan Flanders, 9-Luke Campbell, 10-Ruben Love, 11-Salesi Rayasi, 12-Ngani Laumape, 13-Peter Umaga-Jensen, 14-Julian Savea, 15-Jordie Barrett

Reserves: 16-Asafo Aumua, 17-Fraser Armstrong, 18-Alex Fidow, 19-Isaia Walker-Leawere, 20-Brayden Iose, 21-Cam Roigard, 22-Peter Umaga-Jensen, 23-Pepesana Pataflio

Former All Black Nehe Milner-Skudder has earned a surprise call-up to start for the Highlanders.

Injury to Josh Ioane has opened the door for the 30-year-old to make his debut for the southerners, having not featured in Super Rugby since 2018.

The Highlanders return from their bye week with just the lone change to the forward pack that overcame the Blues in Dunedin in round eight, with Ethan de Groot claiming the starting loosehead prop position to shift Ayden Johnstone to the bench.

In the backs, Ngatungane Punivai is unavailable, due to a recurring leg injury. He's replaced by Sam Gilbert on the right wing, who is returning from a nine-month injury hiatus.

The only other change on the bench sees Hugh Renton come in for Marino Mikaele-Tu'u, who is unavailable due to a lower leg injury. 

Highlanders: 1-Ethan de Groot, 2-Ash Dixon (cc), 3-Siate Tokolahi, 4-Bryn Evans, 5-Josh Dickson, 6-Shannon Frizell, 7-Billy Harmon, 8-Kazuki Himeno, 9-Aaron Smith (cc), 10-Mitch Hunt, 11-Jona Nareki, 12-Scott Gregory, 13-Patelsio Tomkinson, 14-Sam Gilbert, 15-Nehe Milner-Skudder

Reserves: 16-Liam Coltman, 17-Ayden Johnstone, 18-Josh Hohneck, 19-Manaaki Selby-Rickit, 20-Hugh Renton, 21-Kayne Hammington, 22-Michael Collins, 23-James Lentjes

Join us from 7:05pm Friday, for live updates of the Hurricanes v Highlanders Super Rugby Aotearoa clash

Dalton Papali'i won't feature for the Blues this weekend.
Dalton Papali'i won't feature for the Blues this weekend. Photo credit: Getty

Blues v Chiefs

7:05pm Saturday, May 1

Eden Park, Auckland

The Blues will be without star flanker Dalton Papalii for their final-round Super Rugby Aotearoa clash with the Chiefs on Saturday.

The All Blacks forward flanker has succumbed to a knee injury for the 'battle of the Bombays', and has been replaced in the starting XV by Adrian Choat.

Tom Robinson's return helps offset that loss, with the Northland returning from injury to claim the captaincy.

In other changes, Finn Christie moves into halfback, backed up off the bench by Sam Nock. 

He'll pair in the halves with No.10 Otere Black, with Harry Plummer shifting to the reserves.

Wing Mark Telea and fullback Stephen Perofeta will be replaced by Bryce Heem and Zarn Sullivan - who'll make his Super Rugby debut - respectively.

Blues: 1-Karl Tu'inukuafe, 2-Kurt Eklund, 3-Nepo Laulala, 4-Gerard Cowley-Tuioti, 5-Sam Darry, 6-Tom Robinson (capt), 7-Adrian Choat, 8-Hoskins Sotutu, 9-Fin Christie, 10-Otere Black, 11-Caleb Clarke, 12-Tanielu Tele'a, 13-Rieko Ioane (c), 14-Bryce Heem, 15-Zarn Sullivan

Reserves: 16-Soane Vikena, 17-Ofa Tuungafasi, 18-Marcel Renata, 19-Josh Goodhue/Taine Plumtree, 20-Akira Ioane, 21-Sam Nock, 22-Harry Plummer, 23-AJ Lam

The Chiefs have named a heavily rotated side for the final round-robin game of Super Rugby Aotearoa, facing the Blues at Eden Park on Saturday.

With their spot in next week’s final against the Crusaders already guaranteed, coach Clayton McMillan has been able to rest his stars, blooding six debutants.

In the starting side, loose forwards Viliami Taulani and Tongan international Zane Kapeli make their Chiefs debut, while prop Ezekiel Lindenmuth, loose forward Tom Florence, and backs Rivez Reihana and Gideon Wrampling have been named on the bench.

Sean Wainui has been named captain of the fresh-faced side and starts at centre in place of the rested Anton Lienert-Brown.

In the halves, Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi and Bryn Gatland start, while Kaleb Trask is given the nod at fullback, with McMillan choosing to keep captain Brad Weber and star Damian McKenzie rested for the final.

Tahuriorangi is the most experienced member of the starting side, with 44 Super Rugby caps under his belt.

Former All Black Liam Messam returns to the side at the age of 37 and could make his 180th appearance from the bench.

Chiefs: 1-Ollie Norris, 2-Bradley Slater, 3-Sione Mafileo, 4-Samipeni Finau, 5-Josh Lord, 6-Viliami Taulani, 7-Zane Kapeli, 8-Pita Gus Sowakula, 9-Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 10-Bryn Gatland, 11-Shaun Stevenson, 12-Rameka Poihipi, 13-Sean Wainui (c),14-Bailyn Sullivan, 15-Kaleb Trask

Reserves: 16-Nathan Harris, 17-Ezekiel Lindenmuth, 18-Joe Apikotoa, 19-Liam Messam, 20-Tom Florence, 21-Xavier Roe, 22-Rivez Reihana, 23-Gideon Wrampling 

Join us at 7pm Saturday, for live updates of Blues v Chiefs