Motorsport: Scott Dixon seals pole position for Indianapolis 500, Scott McLaughlin 17th

Kiwi Scott Dixon has taken pole position for the Indianapolis 500, finishing first in Monday's (NZ time) Fast Nine Shootout.

The reigning IndyCar champion produced a four-lap average speed of 231.685 miles per hour (372.8 kph) and will start from the front of the grid in the iconic race.

Dixon will start from pole at the Indy 500 for the fourth time in his career. The six-time IndyCar champion won from pole in 2008, and also started from the front of the grid in 2015 and 2017.

The Kiwi equals the second-most career pole positions at the Indy 500, alongside Rex Mays, AJ Foyt and Helio Castroneves. Rick Mears holds the outright record with six.

Chip Ganassi's Dixon started on the front row in the 2020 Indy 500, and finished second to Takuma Sato.

Colton Herta was Dixon's closest competitor, clocking an average speed of 231.655 mph, while Rinus VeeKay (231.511 mph) took third place to complete the front row.

Kiwi and reigning V8 Supercars champion Scott McLaughlin will start from 17th position for Team Penske, after recording 230.557 mph in Sunday's qualifying session.

Making his Indy 500 debut, McLaughlin is best placed of the Team Penske drivers, qualifying ahead of teammates Josef Newgarden (21st), Simon Pagenaud (26th) and Will Power (32nd).

Dixon's result capped a fantastic qualifying for his Chip Ganassi team, with Tony Kanaan (fifth), Alex Palou (sixth) and Marcus Ericsson (ninth) all reaching the Fast Nine.

Join us for live updates of Scott Dixon and Scott McLaughlin contesting the Indy 500 on Monday, May 31