Cricket: Trent Boult returns, New Zealand rotate bowling attack as England bat first in second test

The Blackcaps will bowl first in the second test against England, losing the toss and being asked to field at Birmingham's Edgbaston.

Selectors have rotated the New Zealand attack that featured in the first test at Lord's, with Trent Boult, Neil Wagner, Ajaz Patel, Matt Henry and Daryl Mitchell making up the bowling unit as part of six changes to the playing XI.

Boult returns to the New Zealand side, after arriving late to England following the suspension of the Indian Premier League, and missing the first test at Lord's. 

Mitchell takes the place of Colin de Grandhomme as the side's all-rounder, while Patel takes comes in for Mitchell Santner, out with a finger injury.

Wagner is the only bowler to back up following the conclusion of the first test on Monday.

BJ Watling is a late withdrawal from the squad, failing to overcome a sore back in what would have been his penultimate test match. Tom Blundell takes Watling's place as wicketkeeper.

Will Young will bat at No.3 in place of regular skipper Kane Williamson, rested with an elbow concern, with Tom Latham leading the team in his place.

For England, seamer James Anderson overtakes Sir Alastair Cook as his country's most capped test cricketer, winning his 162nd cap.

Olly Stone is the only change for the home side, taking the spot of Ollie Robinson, dropped after a series of sexist and racist historic tweets were uncovered last week.

The Blackcaps are unbeaten in their last five tests against England, with three wins and two draws - with both victories coming by an innings.

Blackcaps: 1-Tom Latham (c), 2-Devon Conway, 3-Will Young, 4-Ross Taylor, 5-Henry Nicholls, 6-Tom Blundell (wk), 7-Daryl Mitchell, 8-Neil Wagner, 9-Matt Henry, 10-Ajaz Patel, 11-Trent Boult

England: 1-Rory Burns, 2-Dom Sibley, 3-Zak Crawley, 4-Joe Root (c), 5-Ollie Pope, 6-Dan Lawrence, 7-James Bracey (wk), 8-Mark Wood, 9-Olly Stone, 10-Stuart Broad, 11-James Anderson