Tokyo Olympics: Chris Wood in, Sarpreet Singh out for New Zealand's football squad

Burnley FC star Chris Wood will spearhead the New Zealand football team at next month's Tokyo Olympics.

Wood has been named as part of the 18-strong OlyWhites squad to head to Tokyo - part of a quota of three over-age players per team in the U-24 tournament.

Fresh from being named Burnley's Player of the Year as the club's leading goalscorer, Wood's inclusion is a huge boost for the side.

Another of the over-aged players is fellow Premier League player Winston Reid, named pending availability in a bracket with Tim Payne, while Michael Boxall of the MLS' Minnesota United rounds out the contingent.

There's no sign of Bayern Munich's Sarpreet Singh, who's expected to be required for pre-season training, with another loan spell imminent. 

Four A-League players have been included - Clayton Lewis, Ben Waine, Dane Ingham, and Gianni Stensness.

Key midfielder Ryan Thomas wasn't considered, after suffering a season-ending ankle injury for Dutch giants PSV Eindhoven.

Michael Woud has been favoured as goalkeeper over Phoenix revelation Oli Sail, who would've required an over-age spot to play.

Brisbane Roar forward Joey Champness has confirmed his international allegiance switch to New Zealand, having previously represented Australia at age group level.

On the women's side of the draw, the Football Ferns will rely on a core of experience, as the quartet of Abby Erceg, Ria Percival, Anna Green and Ali Riley return for their fourth Olympic Games.

Talent from the bronze medal winning U-17s is also starting to come through in the squad, with  striker Gabi Rennie (yet to be capped at senior level) and goalkeeper Anna Leat part of the group.

Indiana University's Rennie is the only uncapped player in the squad.

OlyWhites squad:

Goalkeepers: Michael Woud, Jamie Searle

Defenders: Michael Boxall, Liberato Cacace, Callan Elliot, Dane Ingham, Nando Pijnaker, Winston Reid, George Stanger

Midfielders: Joe Bell, Clayton Lewis, Marko Stamenic, Gianni Stensness

Forwards: Joey Champness, Elijah Just, Callum McCowatt, Ben Waine, Chris Wood

Travelling reserves: Matthew Garbett, Ben Old, Alex Paulsen, Sam Sutton

Football Ferns squad:

Goalkeepers: Erin Nayler, Anna Leat

Defenders: CJ Bott, Claudia Bunge, Abby Erceg, Anna Green, Meikayla Moore, Ali Riley

Midfielders: Katie Bowen, Olivia Chance, Daisy Cleverley, Betsy Hassett, Annalie Longo, Ria Percival, Emma Rolston

Forwards: Gabi Rennie, Paige Satchell, Hannah Wilkinson