World Test Championship final: All you need to know about the historic Blackcaps v India match

India and New Zealand do battle on neutral ground for the right to be crowned the inaugural World Test Championship champions, starting 9pm Friday (NZ time).

The two sides finished first and second on the ladder, after a two-year qualification process, with the Blackcaps edging out Australia and England for a spot in the final. 

The Ageas Bowl in Southampton is the venue - a wicket that has traditionally favoured spin bowling, so Blackcaps beware.

Here is all you need to know: 

Where: Ageas Bowl, Southampton

When: Friday, June 18-Wednesday, June 23 from 9.30pm (NZ time)

Teams: New Zealand (from) - Kane Williamson, Tom Latham, Devon Conway, Will Young, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, BJ Watling, Tom Blundell, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Neil Wagner, Matt Henry, Ajaz Patel 

India: Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinka Rahane, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammad Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah 

NZ TAB odds: New Zealand $3.00, India $3.50, Draw $2.15

Reserve day: An extra (sixth) day will only be used if lost playing time can not be made up during the first five days.

Draw or tie: Unlike the horror of the 2019 ODI World Cup, the trophy and title will be shared if no winners are found at the end of play.

Ball: The famed Duke ball will be used - great news for the Kiwi pace attack, but also for the likes of Indian seamers Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Shami. 

Umpires: Michael Gough and Richard Illingworth
DRS umpire: Richard Kettleborough 
Match referee: Chris Broad 

Weather: Showers are forecast throughout the entire six days, with Friday looking particularly bad. 

Ageas Bowl: Six tests have been played at the venue, with a 3-3 split of draws and wins. 

England seamer James Anderson has taken the most wickets (26), but spin bowler Moeen Ali took 17 wickets in two matches, while Indian tweakers Ravi Jadeja and Ravi Ashwin had eight wickets between them in one outing. 

Where to watch: Sky Sport NZ
Where to listen: Gold FM (Old Radio Sport frequencies)
Live updates: