Cricket: Blackcaps drawn in same group as India, Pakistan, Afghanistan for Twenty20 World Cup

The Blackcaps have been drawn to face heavyweights India and Pakistan at the upcoming T20 World Cup, held in the United Arab Emirates and Oman.

Due to their seeding, the Blackcaps have been awarded an automatic spot in the tournament's Super 12 stage, skipping the pre-tournament qualifying round.

Joining New Zealand in group two of the Super 12s will be recently vanquished World Test Championship final opponents India, now playing without home advantage after the tournament was moved to the UAE and Oman due to COVID-19.

India are currently ranked second only to England in the ICC's Twenty20 standings, with New Zealand third.

Fourth-ranked Pakistan are another Super 12 opponent for New Zealand, as are seventh-ranked Afghanistan.

The last two spots in New Zealand's group will be made up of the runner-up of the first pool of qualifiers, containing Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands and Namibia, and the winner of the second pool - consisting of Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea and joint hosts Oman.

Group one of the Super 12 stage consists of England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, as well as the winner of qualifying pool one, and the runner-up of pool two.

The T20 World Cup begins on October 17, and runs through until November 14.

Qualifying round

Group A: Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Namibia

Group B: Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Oman

Super 12s

Group 1: England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, A1, B2.

Group 2: India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, A2, B1.