Cricket: Stephen Fleming's Chennai Super Kings defeat Brendon McCullum's Kolkata Knight Riders to win Indian Premier League

Chennai Super Kings, coached by former Blackcaps captain Stephen Fleming, have won the 2021 Indian Premier League (IPL), defeating Kolkata Knight Riders by 27 runs in Dubai.

Fleming claims the title and bragging rights over compatriot Brendon McCullum, coach of Kolkata Knight Riders, as Kiwi coaches made up three of the IPL's final four teams, alongside Mike Hesson at Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Delhi Daredevils' Ricky Ponting was the only non-Kiwi coach involved in the IPL playoffs this year.

The title is Fleming's fourth in charge of the Super Kings, having also lifted the IPL trophy in 2010, 2011 and 2018, forming a successful partnership with captain MS Dhoni.

After Kolkata captain Eoin Morgan won the toss and elected to field first, Chennai scored an impressive 192/3 from their 20 overs, led by 86 runs from 59 balls to ex-South Africa captain, Faf du Plessis.

Du Plessis hit seven fours and three sixes in his knock, and was dismissed by the last ball of the innings after opening the batting, and was supported by teammates Ruturaj Gaikwad (32), Robin Uthappa (31) and England all-rounder Moeen Ali (37 not out).

Playing for Kolkata, Blackcaps fast bowler Lockie Ferguson endured a day to forget with the ball, conceding 56 runs from his four overs, hit for seven boundaries and two sixes.

Chasing 193 for victory, Kolkata got off to a bright start as openers Shubman Gill and Venkatesh Iyer added 91 for the first wicket. Iyer was the first dismissed, out for exactly 50, before Gill soon followed for 51.

From 91/0, Kolkata wobbled to 125/8, to leave the Knight Riders having to hit 31 from the last over for victory.

And despite a rapid partnership of 39 runs in 21 balls between tailenders Ferguson (18 not out) and Shivam Mavi (20), Kolkata ultimately fell short, limping to 165/9 from their 20 overs. 

Chennai's fourth title comes alongside finishing as runners up on four occasions, most recently losing to Mumbai Indians in 2019.

Kolkata meanwhile have tasted their first final defeat, having lifted the trophy in both 2012 and 2014.