Cricket: Blackcaps hammered in final Indian Twenty20 as hosts complete series sweep

The Blackcaps have been hammered in the final Twenty20 international against India, losing the match by 73-runs, as the hosts completed a 3-0 series sweep.

Chasing for the first time in the series, New Zealand were rolled for 111, as opener Martin Guptill provided the only batting spark with 51 from 36 balls - one of only three to crack double figures.

Tim Seifert added 17 from 18, while pace bowler Lockie Ferguson hit two sixes in a quickfire 14 (8) and was last man out in the 18th over.

Chasing 185 for victory, the Blackcaps were never in it, losing three wickets in the powerplay to find themselves 30/3 inside five overs.

Guptill and Seifert added 39 in 29 balls, until the wicketkeeper fell to the leg-spin of Yuzvendra Chahal, ending Kiwi hopes of a miraculous fightback.

Guptill fell a few balls later, as New Zealand lost their last six wickets for 41 on a dying pitch at Kolkata's Eden Gardens.

Earlier, Indian skipper Rohit Sharma elected to bat first and set the tone for a well-compiled Indian total, hitting five fours and three sixes in a powerful 51 (34).

The right-hander and opening partner Ishan Kishan added 69 in 38 balls to get the home side off to a flyer, as the Blackcaps struggled to contain the confident Indian pair.

Mitchell Santner put the brakes on the runfest through the middle of the innings, taking 3/27, while spin twin Ish Sodhi was also tidy, ending with 1/31 from his spell.

But Adam Milne and Lockie Ferguson were targeted, conceding a combined 92 runs from their eight overs, as the Indian batsman combining for 18 boundaries and six sixes to end on 184/7.

The two sides head to Kanpur's Green Park Stadium for the first test, scheduled to start on Thursday night.

India 184/7 (Sharma 55, Kishan 29, Santner 3/27) beat New Zealand 111 (Guptill 51, Axar 3/9, Patel 2/26) by 73 runs