Football: New Zealand to kick off home Women's World Cup against Norway, also draw Philippines, Switzerland

Four-times winners the United States will open their World Cup title defence against Vietnam in New Zealand next year after being grouped with the Asian nation, the Netherlands and a playoff winner at Saturday's draw in Auckland.

European champions England will face a playoff winner, Denmark and China in Group D, while 2003 and 2007 World Cup winners Germany will play Morocco, Colombia and South Korea in Group H at the July 20-Aug. 20 tournament next year.

New Zealand will kickoff the first World Cup to be held in the southern hemisphere against former champions Norway in Auckland on July 20 and will also face the Philippines and Switzerland in Group A.

Their co-hosts Australia will start their campaign on the same day at the Sydney Football Stadium against Ireland before going on to play Nigeria and Olympic champions Canada in Group B.

Sweden, ranked second in the world rankings, will take on South Africa, Italy and Argentina in Group G, while fifth-ranked France play Jamaica, Brazil and a playoff winner in Group F, and Spain face Costa Rica, Zambia and 2011 winners Japan in Group C.

The US, champions of the last two editions of the tournament, will play all their Group E matches in New Zealand, facing Vietnam in Auckland on July 22 before a re-match of the 2019 final against the Netherlands in Wellington five days later.

England will be based in Australia for the opening round of the expanded 32-team tournament, kicking off against a playoff winner in Brisbane on July 22.

The 10-team inter-confederation playoffs to decide the last three spots in the tournament takes place in New Zealand from Feb 18-23 next year.