Cricket: Indian wicketkeeper Ish Kishan under fire for trying to trick umpire into giving Blackcaps captain Tom Latham out

Indian wicketkeeper Ishan Kishan has come under fire for trying to trick an umpire into giving Blackcaps captain Tom Latham out during their one-day international series opener.

While Latham calmly fended away spin bowler's Kuldeep Yadav delivery, his wickets lit up red with the bails dislodged, as Kishan appealed to the square-leg umpire.

The keeper appears to have attempted to con the umpire into believing Latham had stood back on his own stumps - but replays showed otherwise.

Kishan can clearly be seen dislodging the bails with his right hand, before turning to the official, and joining his teammates in appeal.

Upon further review, Latham clearly had not made contact with his stumps and Kishan tried to pretend otherwise.

His controversial attempt to dislodge the Blackcaps batter could be retaliation for an earlier incident that also involved Latham. 

Allrounder Hardik Pandya was given out during India's innings, bowled by Daryl Mitchell, but replays suggest Latham, who was standing up to the stumps, accidentally tipped the bail off, as the ball came through.

TV umpire Ananthapadmanabhan couldn't find enough evidence to overturn the onfield decision and Pandya was given his marching orders.

India would hold on to win the match by 12 runs and take a 1-0 series lead going into the second match at Raipur on Saturday.