Blackcaps v India: Stars Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma to miss upcoming Twenty20 series against NZ

Indian captain Rohit Sharma and batsman Virat Kohli will play in a one-day series against New Zealand this month, but will not feature in the following Twenty20 series.

India will play three one-day internationals and three Twenty20 matches against New Zealand from January 18, with Hardik Pandya again leading the side in the T20s, while Rohit is captain for the 50-over games.

Pandya will continue as captain for a third straight series, after leading India to wins over New Zealand in November and Sri Lanka this month.

KL Rahul and Axar Patel will miss both the T20 and ODI series, due to family commitments.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India has also announced the squad for the first two games of a four-test series against Australia, beginning February 9.

Rohit, who missed India's series win over Bangladesh in December with a thumb injury, returns to the test squad as captain.

Batters Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan, who have represented India in shorter formats, may make their test debuts against Australia, after being named in the squad.

Auckland fast bowler Ben Lister has been named in NZ's T20 squad.
Auckland fast bowler Ben Lister has been named in NZ's T20 squad. Photo credit: Photosport

Jasprit Bumrah, who has been struggling with a back injury, and Rishabh Pant, who suffered injuries in a car crash last month, are not included in the squad.

Ravindra Jadeja's inclusion in the test squad is subject to fitness.

India ODI squad: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KS Bharat, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik

India T20 squad: Hardik Pandya (captain), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Jitesh Sharma, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Prithvi Shaw, Mukesh Kumar