Halberg Awards: Zoi Sadowski-Synnott wins Supreme honour as snowsports dominate

New Zealand snowsports have had to remember at the annual Halberg Awards, as snowboarder Zoi Sadowski-Synnott was named as supreme winner at Auckland's Spark Arena.

After a year that saw he make history with New Zealand's first Winter Olympics gold medal in Beijing, the 21-year-old was the clear standout among a stellar snowsports contingent and also claimed the award for Sportswoman of the Year.

Sadowski-Synnott took home gold in the women's snowboard slopestyle and backed up later at the Beijing Games with silver in the big air competition. 

Zoi Sadowski-Synnott at the Beijing Winter Olympics.
Zoi Sadowski-Synnott at the Beijing Winter Olympics. Photo credit: Getty Images

Those two medals, coupled with her big air bronze from PyeongChang 2018,  gave Sadowski-Synnott the complete set of Olympic medals. 

Fellow gold medalist Nico Porteous was also named as Sportsman of the Year, as he too stood at the top of the podium for New Zealand at the Beijing Games, while 17-year-old Gustav Legnavsky was named as the Emerging Athlete of the Year.

Another Beijing dual medallist, Corey Peters, was named as the Para-Athlete of the Year, after he won gold in the downhill sitting event and silver in the Super-G sitting, as his third and fourth Winter Paralympics medals, adding to silver at Sochi 2014 and bronze in 2018.

The Black Ferns were the other big winners on the night.

The women's Rugby World Cup winners took home Team of the Year in recognition of their 2022 achievements that saw them capture the nation, defeating England to win their fifth title.

Director of Rugby Wayne Smith was also named as Coach of the Year, as another accolade for transforming the side, taking over after Glenn Moore stood down less than six months before the World Cup.

Black Ferns Sevens captain and World Cup winner Sarah Hirini was also recognised with Sport NZ Leadership Award for her service in both union codes.

Joanah Ngan-Woo's World Cup-winning lineout steal was voted Favourite Sporting Moment by the fans, beating out stiff competition from Ruby Tui's singalong of 'Tūtira Mai Ngā Iwi' after the final whistle.

This year's ceremony was the first after the passing of Sir Murray Halberg, who died in late 2022.

Halberg Award winners:

Supreme Award - Zoi Sadowski-Synnott
Sporting Moment of the Year - Black Ferns Rugby World Cup final lineout steal
Para-Athlete of the Year - Corey Peters
Sportsman of the Year - Nico Porteous
Team of the Year - Black Ferns
Sportswoman of the Year - Zoi Sadowski-Synnott
Coach of the Year - Wayne Smith
Emerging Talent - Gustav Legnavsky